Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Pumpkin ale critique

Old 08-30-2012, 11:49 PM   #1
chrism583
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3

Default Pumpkin ale critique

Like everyone else it seems I'm doing a pumpkin ale. I'm fairly new to this having only done two other batches before and would appreciate some insight into this batch.

5 Gallons
8 lbs. Roasted pumpkin
1 lb Vienna malt
.5 lb Crystal malt
.5 lb. Malted wheat
6 lbs. light DME
1 oz Mt. Hood hops
.5 oz Hallertauer hops(finishing)
1/2 tsp. Vanilla and cinnamon
1/4 tsp. Ginger, nutmeg, and allspice
Wyeast 1056 American

I had planned on starting my 3 gal. boil with the grains and pumpkin in strain bags and removing them once a boil was reached. After that I was going to put in the DME & Mt. Hood hops until the 45 minute mark and, at that point, put in the finishing hops, vanilla, and spices until 60 when I start to let it cool.

How does all this sound?
Thanks in advance.

Old 08-31-2012, 12:54 PM   #2
bobbrews
Recipes 

Liked 423 Times on 341 Posts
Likes Given: 72

Pumpkin ales, despite the name, are still primarily made with grain for the grist. This recipe contains approx. 80% pumpkin. I highly suggest reading up on how to brew a proper pumpkin ale instead of following your original concept, which will yield more of a vegetal pumpkin wine.

mjdonnelly68 Likes This 
Old 08-31-2012, 02:28 PM   #3
theBFG
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbrews View Post
Pumpkin ales, despite the name, are still primarily made with grain for the grist. This recipe contains approx. 80% pumpkin. I highly suggest reading up on how to brew a proper pumpkin ale instead of following your original concept, which will yield more of a vegetal pumpkin wine.