What to do with fresh hops? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > What to do with fresh hops?

Old 08-20-2012, 02:39 AM   #1
thisgoestoeleven
Recipes 

Jan 2011
Fair Haven, VT
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

I conduct a community band, and one of the musicians knows I brew and mentioned that she has a whole bunch of hops growing on her property. She offered to let me come over and pick as many as I can bring home with me, and I'm naturally really excited for fresh hops. My question is what do I do with them once I get them? Should I dry them out? If so, how do I do that? What kind of shelf life do the fresh hops have, where if I brewed in the next week or so they'd still be good? I've never used fresh hops before, and I'd love any input you guys might have.

Old 08-20-2012, 12:27 PM   #2

Hi Eleven. Great offer on the hops, congrats! You can either use the hops fresh (called wet hopping) or dry, package and freeze them. There 's a whole section here on HBT about growing hops, http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f92/ take a look and you'll find tons of info.

Old 08-23-2012, 04:29 AM   #3
Freerent
Recipes 

May 2011
Central coast, CA

So i would wet hop your beers in secondary Furthermore you should pick some to share w/ your home brewing community. What would you charge for a couple of large zip lock bags to California.

Old 08-23-2012, 04:36 AM   #4
Mongrel
Recipes 

Oct 2010
Sisters, Oregon
Liked 238 Times on 149 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisgoestoeleven View Post