Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Must brew styles

Old 08-17-2012, 02:11 PM   #1
capnzak
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Must brew styles

I am a total n00b. I will be brewing my 3rd batch tomorrow. As the new hop season approaches I am wondering what to buy, so I was wondering what to brew? Are there any styles of beer that everyone should try once? What are they and which grains and hops do you need for them?
This may seem a silly set of questions, but I am in Japan and it is a little difficult to buy ingredients. Therefore I am trying to buy things in large quantities.

Old 08-17-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
Schumed
Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 20

When I started brewing I wasn't familiar with a the styles that are out there so I would go to the store and pick up different things I haven't had before and the ones I liked did some research on the Ingredients and come up with recipes that way

You can never have enough Cascade Hops..goes well with lots of styles and can be used as both bittering and aroma

Old 08-17-2012, 02:19 PM   #3
grey487
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Every other batch I make is a Rye P.A. I just never want to run out of this stuff! You can do a reciepe search on this site, or you can buy kits online.
If I could figure out a way to SCUBA and drink Hombrew at the same time...well...I guess there wouldn't be anything left to try to attain in this life.

Old 08-17-2012, 02:21 PM   #4
inhousebrew
Recipes 

Liked 126 Times on 113 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schumed View Post
You can never have enough Cascade Hops..goes well with lots of styles and can be used as both bittering and aroma
Cascade are worth having a bunch of.
Old 08-17-2012, 02:32 PM   #5
tnlandsailor

Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts

Default A Plug for the BJCP