Ss Brewtech’s Biggest Baddest Holiday Giveaway Ever!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > kettle wiring
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2012, 01:26 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 2
Default kettle wiring

I was looking at spa panels to hook up my kettles by bypassing my Ac/heat pump disconnect, which is 220 60amp. If I am by passing my heatpump and tieing into my home panel, wouldn't the gfci on the home panel be enough protection to not have to even buy/hookup another panel/breaker? Correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks

Scweco is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 01:44 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jenkintown, PA
Posts: 159
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 11


You'll have to provide more details of how everything is wired, but in general you only need 1 GFCI on the circuit. So *if* your AC is on GFCI, you can use that circuit. (Not all breakers are GFCI, so make sure your AC really is on GFCI.)

But keep in mind that very few systems you see here are scaled for 60 amps. Most are 30, some are 50. Kal might have build specs for 60, but it's going to be expensive to get components that support 60 amps.

Another option is a 30 or 50 amp (dual-pole) breaker between you and the 60 amp circuit. This additional breaker would not need to be GFCI, if the 60 breaker in your main box is already GFCI.

abarnett is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 01:50 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Great White North
Posts: 226
Liked 18 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 32


Yes, only one GFCI is needed in the circuit. However, it is very unlikely your existing home panel is actually GFCI. The most common are breakers, older houses may still have fuses. While standard breakers and fuses will stop current in the event of too much draw, they do so to protect the wiring, rather than GFCI, which cuts the circuit off when it detects a fault to ground, which protects people.
NoCornOrRice is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 04:09 PM   #4
Vendor and Brewer
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Bobby_M's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,629
Liked 1398 Times on 917 Posts
Likes Given: 35


The odds of the heatpump being on a 60a gfci breaker is slim. Hardwired appliances don't have to be. When you say "bypass" exactly how do you plan to do that? Remove the wires from the breaker? Not the best way to swap between uses.

Without any discussion about code, the line from the breaker could go to a large transfer switch, basically a 60a DPDT switch to select which device is active. The one for the brewery should hit a 60a spa panel.
Welcome to I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
Bobby_M is online now
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring assistance - single PID/SSR single kettle setup Psych Electric Brewing 89 01-01-2014 09:56 PM
3ph Steam Kettle Wiring Question onthekeg Electric Brewing 17 08-30-2012 03:43 AM
looking for wiring help bagpiperjosh Electric Brewing 12 03-22-2012 04:58 PM
wiring help kshuler Electric Brewing 2 11-03-2011 03:50 PM
wiring a 240V heater to a Kettle CanadianNorth Electric Brewing 9 03-31-2011 11:01 PM

Forum Jump

Newest Threads