Yeast nutrient...anyone use it? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Yeast nutrient...anyone use it?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2012, 04:45 AM   #1
dregus
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
So. California, California
Posts: 75


Does anyone use yeast nutrient in their starters or in the carbon for fermentation? I thought I had read that you should use it and it has been awhile since I made a starter. I can't remember when to add the nutrient.

Is it even necessary? I am trying to grow enough yeast for a 32 gallon batch from a white labs vile. I plan to create 3 starters, successively larger over three days and ending with a 6 liter yeast starter.

Is this insane?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 05:13 AM   #2
Shrimpboat
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
MA/ Usa
Posts: 18
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


Why not make a 5 or 10 gallon batch and use the yeast cake for your larger batch

amandabab Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 05:52 AM   #3
tally350z
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
tally350z's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,293
Liked 90 Times on 75 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpboat View Post
why not make a 5 or 10 gallon batch and use the yeast cake for your larger batch
+1..
__________________
Toasting Tortoise Brewery
Primary - Smoked Belgium
Secondary - SOUR TORTOISE
Kegged
- Burton IPA, Munich Lager, Cream Ale
Bottled - Muscadine Port, Imperial Stout

North Florida Brewers League

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:57 AM   #4
diS
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Croatia
Posts: 997
Liked 48 Times on 45 Posts


I add nutrient to my stepped starter, I store my yeast frozen in glycerin solution and my though is that in that condition they need more nutrient than is available in wort for starter.
Never added it to whole batch, there should be plenty of nutrients to keep them healthy.
__________________
We are only 10,000 years into beer... there are thousands of years left to go!
Things are bound to change!!

Brewroom with HERMS build
Fermentation chamber and Keezer.. a.k.a. FermKeezer

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:02 PM   #5
paulster2626
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,864
Liked 337 Times on 226 Posts


Nah, I used to, but found I get the exact same results sans-nutrients.

Now I just sprinkle it on my eggs at breakfast. Keeps me going until lunch.

bizarrojosh Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:07 PM   #6
ajwillys
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 1,296
Liked 26 Times on 24 Posts


Any time I do a super high gravity batch or I re-use yeast, I use a bit of yeast nutrient. If I was doing a "strained starter" from a bank or capturing from a bottle I would also use it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 01:08 PM   #7
dregus
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
So. California, California
Posts: 75

Thanks for the input. Does the amount of nutrient matter? Can you use to much? When do you add the nutrient in the process of making the starter?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 01:09 PM   #8
dregus
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
So. California, California
Posts: 75

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrimpboat
Why not make a 5 or 10 gallon batch and use the yeast cake for your larger batch
This is a great idea but I don't have e time to brew the original batch.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 01:43 PM   #9
phuff7129
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Lino Lakes, MN
Posts: 558
Liked 40 Times on 34 Posts


I use nutrient made by Wyeast. I prefer it over the urea based LD Carlson nutrient. I don't like putting urine in my beer!
__________________
This might be the beer talking....but I really love beer!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:12 PM   #10

I always toss a quarter teaspoon into my starter while it is boiling. Have never used nutrient in the main batch but I should try it.
__________________
2012 Canadian Brewer of the Year
2013 Canadian Brewer of the Year
2015 Canadian Brewer of the Year

@evilgoatbrewing

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump