Thoughts on the BCS systems - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Thoughts on the BCS systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2012, 01:04 AM   #1
lgoolsby
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts



I am getting ready to pull the trigger on converting my current single tier system in a BCS controlled system. Does anyone here have any thoughts or opinions on the BCS?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 01:17 AM   #2
chumpsteak
 
chumpsteak's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Meridian, ID
Posts: 852
Liked 96 Times on 79 Posts


Pisses me off how they think they control college football. Who made them the pope of football?

sTiNkFiZzle Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 01:18 AM   #3
MalFet
/bɪər nɜrd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,632
Liked 1474 Times on 975 Posts


Well liked, effective, reliable, reasonably powerful. Can you be more specific?
__________________
"Be excellent to each other." -Benjamin Franklin

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 03:10 AM   #4
PLOVE
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
PLOVE's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Colton, OR
Posts: 485
Liked 40 Times on 38 Posts


Well priced - especially when you consider a 460 replaces 4 PIDs and includes 8 DIN/DOUTs. Times are part of the standard web interface. Fully expandable - add additional DIN/DOUT. Plus you can can automate your brew day, while chronically managing other items, such as fermenters, keezers, etc. Additional control over the HMI let's you customize the appearance of your brewery. HEck, add a bridge router and you could brew from your phone from say . . . Kansas. I haven't even begun to tap the potential, but it's a pretty clever approach. The bigger question as voiced by MalFet is what are you looking to do with such a system?
PLOVE

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 02:36 AM   #5
MVKTR2
 
MVKTR2's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
Columbia, MS
Posts: 1,306
Liked 100 Times on 78 Posts


I think the BCS system needs to be expanded to a 16 team playoff... otherwise it might as well be the same as the pre-BCS era bowl system!

What?
Wrong BCS?
Ooooh sorry.
__________________
"Perhaps wisdom for me is understanding how truely small I am, and that there is no smug self centered moment of clarity when there is so much more to learn" Anthony Bourdain

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 02:00 AM   #6
DrewF
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
PA
Posts: 26
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


I use a BCS-462 to control mash temps and times on a HERMS system, plus controlling heating and cooling for fermentations. Other than price/value, the main selling points of this solution to me were:

1) Automatic data logging. The BCS has a screen that displays temperature and time data in graph format and also has the ability to save CSV files to a PC which can be loaded to a spreadsheet.

2) Saving and loading configurations. I already save recipes and brewing sessions in ProMash, so it is a natural extension to save BCS processes too. For a given batch of beer I will run mash, sparge, fermenter heating and fermenter cooling processes. By saving these processes on my PC for each recipe and rerunning them the next time I brew the same recipe I hope to improve consistency between batches.

lgoolsby Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:47 AM   #7
lgoolsby
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Ok wise-acres. I am talking about the Embedded Control Concepts temp controller. I am mainly looking for feedback on how hard it is to wire up, reliability, support, etc.

Yes, I live in the South and recognize that there is another hallowed institution that uses the same acronym, but I would assume you would know the difference.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 04:35 PM   #8
bowtieman81
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3


I too am looking at using a BCS-460 to automate my brewery in the near future. I would like to know how others install there probes. I would like to install mine similar to the electric brewery (1.5" or 2" probes installed in Stainless "T" fitting on vessel discharges). I can't seem to find probes in this length. Any help?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 04:42 PM   #9
DrewF
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
PA
Posts: 26
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


I bought my probes and compression fittings directly from ECC and use the 4" one in a stainless T on my kettle valve. ECC sells the compression fittings I use too but seems to be out of stock at the moment.

http://www.embeddedcc.com/index.php/...j25psvi65difn0

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 08:39 PM   #10
blakeseven
Recipes 
 
Oct 2011
manassas, va
Posts: 68
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


I now have my control panel up and running. I am using manual mode and all is working great. My question is how do I create a processes that will allow me to control the boil with a PWM. I want to use web buttons to move up and down in 5% increments. How do I create a process to make this happen?

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automated brew systems in Colorado? chip82 Automated Brewing Forum 4 10-06-2012 07:17 PM


Forum Jump