Jun 2011
Ormskirk, Lancs

What do you guys reckon?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120806_130047.jpg
Views:	258
Size:	5.7 KB
ID:	70893

I have a few batches of IPA's fermenting. They are all clearly infected to varying extents, but have you guys got experience with this type?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120806_130107.jpg
Views:	260
Size:	11.3 KB
ID:	70894

It seems to be just top surface layer, so I'm probably going to rack the bulk off and keg or bottle.

Smells great still and this just appeared in the past few days having been in the secondary for couple weeks.

Guessing my sanitation was slack in the secondary stage.

Any advice for this time or future us appreciated (I have been brewing AG and country wines for a few years, don't remember getting this before).
Bottled (drinking): Smokey Porter, Brunette Ale, Elderflower Champagne; Ruby Ale; D&B Root Beer; Rhubarb Dessert Wine

Old 08-06-2012, 03:19 PM   #2
KuntzBrewing
Recipes 

Aug 2011
Kokomo, Indiana
Liked 14 Times on 13 Posts

None are infected. Looks like hop matter and co2 bubbles.

Old 08-06-2012, 03:35 PM   #3
helgibelgi
Recipes 

Mar 2011
Reykjavik, Iceland
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

RDWHAHB

If it is infected with something it's probably not going to kill you, so I say give it a chance. Don't dump it.

Old 08-06-2012, 04:37 PM   #4
bierhaus15
Recipes 

Aug 2008
, New York
Liked 131 Times on 81 Posts

Uh, yeah, they are most certainly infected. Could be lacto or something like wild yeasts.

I wouldn't dump them yet, though start drinking them sooner than later.

Old 08-06-2012, 04:42 PM   #5
Rarig
Recipes 

Aug 2012
Los Olivos, California
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Ever think about making a still? Haha kidding. Has anyone ever distilled their actual craft homebrew? I always wondered what would come out of doing that if you happened to use your 'spoiled' beer.

Cheers,
Rarig

Old 08-07-2012, 01:28 AM   #6
theredben
Recipes 

Dec 2010
Langley, BC