Fementation freezer setting w/ STC 1000 controller - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Fementation freezer setting w/ STC 1000 controller

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2012, 12:49 PM   #1
logdrum
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
North Olmsted, Ohio
Posts: 912
Liked 58 Times on 52 Posts



OK, I've got my 7.0 GE chest freezer up & running, controlled by an STC 1000 w/ a lamp on the hot side (much thanks to the great threads detailing wiring, builds etc.). All seems fine, wort is holding steady, I'd just like to know what setting I should leave the freezer itself on, in order to lessen compressor cycling & hopefully lengthen the lifespan of the freezer? Right now it's on about 2.5 (out of 7). I've searched through the threads, read most of them & can't seem to find the answer. Also, how should I set the parameters of the STC, specifically F2 & F3? Thanks.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 12:59 PM   #2
Nagorg
If a frog had wings...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Nagorg's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
DFW, Texas
Posts: 930
Liked 152 Times on 106 Posts


I wouldn't think the freezer's thermostat setting would really matter much since the STC 1000 has taken it's place. I have mine set on the coldest setting I could assuming if it were too high, it might turn the compressor off before the STC 1000 cut power.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 02:44 PM   #3
jubelale
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 70
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


F2 and F3 } 0.3 and 10 is what mine are set at.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:00 PM   #4
logdrum
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
North Olmsted, Ohio
Posts: 912
Liked 58 Times on 52 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jubelale View Post
F2 and F3 } 0.3 and 10 is what mine are set at.
Cool, thanks. how often does your freezer cycle? What are you using for the hot side?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:06 PM   #5
logdrum
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
North Olmsted, Ohio
Posts: 912
Liked 58 Times on 52 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagorg View Post
I wouldn't think the freezer's thermostat setting would really matter much since the STC 1000 has taken it's place. I have mine set on the coldest setting I could assuming if it were too high, it might turn the compressor off before the STC 1000 cut power.
Ok, I see what you mean-at the temps I'm fermenting, I'm not sure the freezer's thermostat would ever override the STC's. I'm curious if changing the freezer's thermostat settings affects any other parameters.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:30 PM   #6
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 1,019
Liked 118 Times on 102 Posts


Just set it to its coldest setting. With an external controller, you want the internal thermostat contacts to ALWAYS be closed. This allows the external thermostat to have full control.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 02:02 PM   #7
jubelale
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 70
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


I use a fridge and it cycles when it needs to. It cycles a lot but I am in Vegas and its in the garage. In the winter I just use a red light bulb on the hot side.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STC-1000 Temperature controller Plasse_D Equipment/Sanitation 22 12-29-2015 04:31 PM
Freezer Setting w/ A419 Control - Max., Min., Middle? mthelm85 Equipment/Sanitation 4 07-25-2011 05:24 AM
Johnson A419 controller - question about setting temp. shanecb Equipment/Sanitation 9 07-09-2011 03:32 PM
Setting temp controller temperature Schmidty Equipment/Sanitation 3 08-07-2009 03:56 AM
Does a chest freezer really need to be set at its coldest setting? Tankard Equipment/Sanitation 6 08-30-2008 02:36 PM


Forum Jump