Electirc brewing on 110 is it possible - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Electirc brewing on 110 is it possible

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2012, 06:51 AM   #1
dpalme
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 388
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts



See everyone brewing using 220 or 240 for electric brewing but I'm wondering if anyone has a 110 setup?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 08:52 AM   #2
rswear
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Snohomish, WA
Posts: 46
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


I do. I use a pair of ultra-low density 1500 watt elements plugged into separate 20 Amp GFI circuits. I will also throw in a 1000 watt bucket heater (on 3rd circuit) when I am feeling impatient. Once up to temp I can maintain the boil with 1 element. Itís faster than when I would only use my gas stove although it still takes a while. I do 5 gallon full boils batches.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 12:39 PM   #3
brewmastercontrols
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Posts: 122
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts


I too got by with 120 volts for a while when living in a place with no 240 access. Some tips.

-Use the maximum wattage element you can without blowing the breaker
-Use a second or third outlet in your house to be able to run all elements at once, i.e. find which outlets are on different breakers, I did this with two long extension cords of the correct rating
-Consider using a HERMS system in which the pump cycles on and off to pull heat out of the HLT for the Mash tun. This allows you to heat the HLT to say, 175 F, then just recirculate mash when you need heat. Not ideal, but allows the HLT heating process to take place slowly on brew day, then the 10-15 gallons of hot water act as a battery when the mash needs heat, and the small little 120 V element can keep up with this leveled demand. You will have problems with step mashes, but a single temp mash works perfect.

It is very easy to switch to 240 later, do not let the 120V limit get you down, here is a look at my system, I recently switched from 120 to 240 V. The entire change over was about 15 minutes as i had to re wire one plug, and one controller power source. I also changed an element, but that was not necessary, just done to deliver more wattage to the HLT now that I had 240.

Cheers

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 01:08 PM   #4
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Jersey Shore, Jersey
Posts: 9,428
Liked 1317 Times on 1009 Posts


I have been brewing w/ 110 for years, and just recently have done several 15 gal batches (18-19 gal boil) in a 20 gal pot w/ two 2000w elements. So, yea it's more than possible, it's actually cheap and easy. IME the lower wattage elements can be run simply at 100% w/out control...why throttle back a small element?

Heating times will be slightly longer w/ 110 than using a more powerful 220 / 5500w element, but very tolerable and perhaps quicker than propane or NG.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 01:16 PM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


Here is a diagram that might help you:

As always - Click on the image to see a full scale diagram that is printable on Tabloid paper (11" x 17")



P-J

wottaguy Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:53 PM   #6
wottaguy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
wottaguy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
, FL
Posts: 82
Liked 8 Times on 3 Posts


P-J...This drawing is most timely as it is almost exactly the way I am reconfiguring my current panel! Thank you so much for creating and posting your wonderful schematics as they are all easy to understand and amazingly helpful! 2 questions for ya:

1) what kind of switches are shown between the SSR's and load...?
2) what would you think of using a pair of these http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=250
as control protection for the switch?

Thanks again for all your work and help!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 05:06 PM   #7
seatbelt123
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Durham, NC
Posts: 391
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalme View Post
See everyone brewing using 220 or 240 for electric brewing but I'm wondering if anyone has a 110 setup?
Absolutely. And coincidentally I just posted a write up on my brewing rig. I included data on time to temp using two 1500v elements.

Here's the link:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/my-...d-pics-342786/

Here's how long it takes to heat tap water to strike temp:
Minutes Temp
0 80
9 110
13 118
17 129
22 142
29 163


Hope this helps!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 08:20 PM   #8
Jarrat
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
Chilliwack, BC Canada
Posts: 16
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Dude.... thats SLOW. You should be able to get up to that temp in half the time.. or less... Try using a lid and and or insulate your brew kettle....


Quote:
Originally Posted by seatbelt123 View Post
Absolutely. And coincidentally I just posted a write up on my brewing rig. I included data on time to temp using two 1500v elements.

Here's the link:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/my-...d-pics-342786/

Here's how long it takes to heat tap water to strike temp:
Minutes Temp
0 80
9 110
13 118
17 129
22 142
29 163


Hope this helps!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 10:06 PM   #9
seatbelt123
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Durham, NC
Posts: 391
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrat
Dude.... thats SLOW. You should be able to get up to that temp in half the time.. or less... Try using a lid and and or insulate your brew kettle....
It's insulated, 7 gallons. What's your rate?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 10:57 PM   #10
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Jersey Shore, Jersey
Posts: 9,428
Liked 1317 Times on 1009 Posts


29 minutes to strike temps seems reasonable...it takes me that long to measure and crush grain I guess....

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump