Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Help switching to 10 gallon batches
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2012, 05:29 PM   #1
wfred
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 23
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts

Default Help switching to 10 gallon batches

Currently I have a 10 gallon pot and 10 gallon cooler rig.I want to brew 10 gallon batches so I can split them up in 2 5 gallon batches to share with a friend. Besides a 20 gallon pot, what else do i need to have or think about when I make the jump? Do I need 2 packs of yeast or can I make a 2 liter starter and split it in half for each five gallons in the 2 primary buckets?

Thanks,

Fred


wfred is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 06:25 PM   #2
mikeysab
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
 
mikeysab's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 4,511
Liked 534 Times on 407 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

For me, part of the fun of doing 10 gallon batches, is doing different yeasts in each bucket. It's very interesting to see how different yeasts effect flavor. If using the same yeast, you could just make a bigger starter, no need to use another vial.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper
We be in a big hurry for dope beer with much alcamahol and flavor, quality, balance, and aroma don't matter.
Mikeysab on untappd.
mikeysab is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 09:26 PM   #3
Hammy71
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Hammy71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , Maryland, The Tax Me State
Posts: 5,796
Liked 477 Times on 365 Posts
Likes Given: 743

Default

You can do either. The beer doesn't care where the yeast come from. Just make sure you pitch the right amount.
Hammy71 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS