WILLHI controller - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kegerators & Keezers > WILLHI controller

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2012, 12:05 PM   #1
new2brew1221
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 267
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts



Has anyone else used a WILLHI controller for their keezer? I wired mine up and connected the freezer to it, set the temp to 7C and left it overnight. This morning I checked on it and the display was showing -12. What am I doing wrong? I don't want to freeze my brew.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 1,019
Liked 118 Times on 102 Posts


Standard questions: Where is the probe located? Are you circulating the air? Is there anything in the freezer right now?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 01:49 PM   #3
new2brew1221
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 267
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


The probe is just hanging in there right now, there was no air circulating, and the freezer is empty.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 02:12 AM   #4
JRems
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
Mahopac, NY
Posts: 2,221
Liked 60 Times on 52 Posts


Is it set to heat or to cool?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
Simcoe smells like 10 cats pissing on a pine tree. It's awesome.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 06:30 AM   #5
JuanMoore
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
The Old Pueblo
Posts: 21,877
Liked 3678 Times on 3500 Posts


What hysteresis do you have it set to? Are you sure it's in cool mode, and not heat mode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by new2brew1221 View Post
The probe is just hanging in there right now, there was no air circulating, and the freezer is empty.
That's a great way to cause your freezer to short cycle and kill the compressor. I hope you at least had the ASD setting maxed out. You need some thermal mass inside the freezer if the probe is just dangling, or better yet, attach the probe to something with some thermal mass, like a small water bottle, or do both.
__________________
I'm trying to find some porn filmed by a dog wearing a GoPro. - SharonaZamboni

Hunter, when you get bored, will you put a taco in my elephant's hands for me? - Hat

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 12:05 PM   #6
new2brew1221
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 267
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


I reset it last night, and the hysteresis is at 5. There was no mass in there, so just let it run for a couple of hours to make sure it would hold the temp. It's default was HC, which was heating and cooling, but is now set to cooling only. Everything seems to be working correctly. Once I have the keg inside, I plan on having the probe in a bottle filled with water.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 02:55 PM   #7
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 1,019
Liked 118 Times on 102 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by new2brew1221 View Post
... It's default was HC, which was heating and cooling, but is now set to cooling only.....
Actually, HC=00 is cooling and HC=01 is heating. You should still consider some air circulation.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:53 PM   #8
new2brew1221
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 267
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


The hysteresis is set to 5, I currently have the temp set to 8. I plan on having the probe in a bottle of water once I put the keg and CO2 inside. I just had everything hooked up for a couple of hours to make sure it was functioning properly. After I had set the controller to cool.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump