HELP needed - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kegerators & Keezers > HELP needed

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2012, 12:42 AM   #1
new2brew1221
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 268
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts



Built my keezer, but am stumped on how to wire the temp controller!! If someone could tell me where the white, black and green wires go, from the locations on the controller, and the locations on a standard outlet, using a standard drop cord for the wire, I would GREATLY appreciate it!! I cannot find any diagrams using this controller.
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2840184938.jpg
Views:	2356
Size:	38.2 KB
ID:	66115   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3884418004.jpg
Views:	2312
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	66116  

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 01:49 AM   #2
day_trippr
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Stow, MA
Posts: 18,442
Liked 3248 Times on 2424 Posts


Cut a three prong extension cord where it makes sense for your installation. Inside there will be black (hot) white (return or "neutral") and green (safety ground). The male end supplies power to the Willhi controller, and you'll plug your fridge into the female end.

Then, just follow the diagram...



Cheers!

P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 02:10 AM   #3
Dunerunner
 
Dunerunner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Florence, OR
Posts: 795
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts


Correct but.....there should be no connection to the black and white power leads...




 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 02:12 AM   #4
day_trippr
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Stow, MA
Posts: 18,442
Liked 3248 Times on 2424 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunerunner View Post
Correct but.....there should be no connection to the black and white power leads...
Non engineer, yes?

When wires cross there's no connection unless it's dotted...

Cheers!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 02:15 AM   #5
Dunerunner
 
Dunerunner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Florence, OR
Posts: 795
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts


Sorry....Engineering Technician. I read and draw electrical schematics and write technical manuals. Missed the dots on your other terminations...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 02:25 AM   #6
day_trippr
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Stow, MA
Posts: 18,442
Liked 3248 Times on 2424 Posts


38 years designing computers, memory subsystems and solid state disks for the likes of IBM, Digital, HP, Compaq, Stratus, and now a hired gun doing 3rd generation PCIe SSDs. Extensive patent portfolio, primarily on caching algorithms, error correction, enhancing memory exchange transactions and fault isolation mechanisms.

Even when I was hand drawing schematics in the early 70s I never resorted to "jumping over" wires, or using dots for a three line connection as the one shown. Amazingly, everyone I ever worked for understood it perfectly - and they still do

Cheers!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 02:33 AM   #7
Dunerunner
 
Dunerunner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Florence, OR
Posts: 795
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts


Oh....That explains everything! You're an Electronics Engineer. For a novice who doesn't know how to connect a well labled electronic thermal controller, I thought it best to show there was no connection before he created a neat little short circuit. Congrats on your 38 year career, I only did 33....Now, I just brew! Isn't life great?


 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 02:36 AM   #8
new2brew1221
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 268
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


Ok, so if I'm reading this right, then it should be white from extension cord to 4 and from 4 to silver tab on outlet. Black from extension cord to 1, from 1 to 3, and from brass tab on outlet to 2. Green to ground on outlet. Plus, I need to cut the connector tab on the silver side?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 02:38 AM   #9
new2brew1221
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 268
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


Thanks for the help. I'm just trying to be able to control the temp on my new keezer.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 02:41 AM   #10
Dunerunner
 
Dunerunner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Florence, OR
Posts: 795
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts


If you are using a Duplex outlet, but why not just use a dedicated single gang recepricle?

Here is another option if you are using a Duplex outlet...That way, you don't have to modify the recepticle.


 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump