Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > BCS Level Sensing
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2012, 07:54 AM   #1
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 43 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default BCS Level Sensing

I'm looking at this continuous level sensor.

No... it's not cheap. But it can be configured for 1-5 volt output. How would I use this with a BCS controller since the BCS does not work with an analog signal? A transducer? if so, what am I looking for?


OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 03:38 AM   #2
kladue
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Turner, Oregon, Oregon most of the time now
Posts: 2,318
Liked 50 Times on 45 Posts

Default

I have looked around for "resistance" output versions, but most have small range of resistance change to work with automotive fuel gauges. There was one that had a range for working with 2K thermistors but the BCS uses 10K thermistors so I do not know what you kind of results you would get.


kladue is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 03:48 AM   #3
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 43 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Thanks Kevin
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:39 AM   #4
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 43 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Here is an example using a pressure sensor and an Arduino to convert the voltage for the BCS. Would something similar to this work with the sensor I listed above?
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 11:41 AM   #5
kladue
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Turner, Oregon, Oregon most of the time now
Posts: 2,318
Liked 50 Times on 45 Posts

Default

I am unsure as to whether the setup with the Arduino would give you the results you are looking for, let me do some additional looking for a suitable method to make this work.
kladue is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 03:42 PM   #6
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 43 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Research research research
Ok… so here is a transducer that does similar to what I’m looking for. What would it take to build one that just took 0-5V and converted it to 0-10K ohms?
From there it shouldn’t take much to make it work with the BCS… right?
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 08:41 PM   #7
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 43 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Still researching...
I found this schematic
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 09:10 PM   #8
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,377
Liked 1331 Times on 887 Posts
Likes Given: 622

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneHoppyGuy View Post
Still researching...
I found this schematic
An arduino could definitely do a linear conversion between 1-5v and 0-10k ohms via a relatively simple interface with a digital pot, but it would be hardware overkill. This circuit you've got here looks like it would work fine if you can generate a clock signal.
__________________
"Be excellent to each other." -Benjamin Franklin
MalFet is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 09:24 PM   #9
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 43 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Please excuse my complete ignorance.
Would a Ceramic Oscillator work as a clock?
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 09:27 PM   #10
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,377
Liked 1331 Times on 887 Posts
Likes Given: 622

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneHoppyGuy
Please excuse my complete ignorance.
Would a Ceramic Oscillator work as a clock?
I suspect so, though I'm an amateur too. Just make sure the frequency and voltage outputs are within the specs of the chip you pick.


__________________
"Be excellent to each other." -Benjamin Franklin
MalFet is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS