Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Winners Drawn!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks > Cut the keggle... Now what???

Old 06-19-2012, 07:19 AM   #1
mjmac85
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Cut the keggle... Now what???

So I have been trying to find a keg to make into a keggle for a long time. After turning into my street I noticed my neighbor has a keg sitting in his garage. I gave him $20 bucks and I finally have my keggle. Cut the hole in the top and I am soaking it in bleach right now. The question is now what? The first thing I am going to add is http://www.brewhardware.com/wlsightg...al-thermometer. Going with weldless since I have no welding experience.

Now that I have a keggle I want to move into all grain. I am really just starting the switch. I noticed most keggles have a drain in it. I am a little confused as to what other accessories I need to add. Do I need a drain spout or should I just siphon it out? What exactly is the purpose of the false bottom?

Old 06-19-2012, 07:43 AM   #2
t-jarks22
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts

The false bottom is to strain out the grains and hops that you brew with. And yes a bottom spout is pretty key as that is where the false bottom comes into play. I too am just starting all grain, and there is a lot of startup and gear that can make brewing all grain smooth and fun. Not to mention exciting! I have weld less fittings and they work great

Old 06-19-2012, 07:46 AM   #3
t-jarks22
Recipes 

And personally I would get the ball valve before the sight glass. Good luck your new venture. Cheers

Old 06-19-2012, 07:47 AM   #4
t-jarks22
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by t-jarks22
And personally I would get the ball valve before the sight glass. Good luck your new venture. Cheers

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3576437286.jpg
Views:	451
Size:	67.4 KB
ID:	65437