Ss Brewtech’s Biggest Baddest Holiday Giveaway Ever!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Really excited about one of my own beers for the first time
Old 06-18-2012, 02:15 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Liked 332 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default Really excited about one of my own beers for the first time

I started brewing at the beginning of this year and have 7 batches down so far. Each of the previous recipes was either a kit, or someone else's recipe that I either used verbatim or modified slightly. Each batch turned out nice (and the bourbon stout I made continues to improve the longer it sits in bottles), but it was never anything that really blew me away. I think we all tend to be more critical of what we make ourselves versus what other people have made. I've been a musician for a long time and I can't listen to my own recordings because I'm too critical of my own work. I figured it was probably the same way with beer.

A few weeks ago I grabbed a few different grains to take advantage of AHS's free shipping weekend. I originally intended to put together a few SMaSHes to clear out some of my hop inventory, so I got some MO, Vienna and Munich after perusing a couple SMaSH threads for combinations. I set out to make a MO/Amarillo SMaSH, since that seemed to be a popular combination. Once I got into Beersmith I decided on an APA style and I decided I wanted to bump the color into style, so I grabbed a pound of C40 to go with my 10 pounds of MO. Since it was now no longer a SMaSH I threw caution to the wind and decided to add Citra to the Amarillo after seeing a few people talk about that combo on here.

So basically I made an APA with:
10# MO
1# C40
4 ounces Amarillo
2 ounces Citra