extending rtd wires? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > extending rtd wires?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2012, 09:03 PM   #1
wncbrewer
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
sylva, NC
Posts: 431
Liked 15 Times on 13 Posts



I have the deluxe rtd probes from auber. The leads they provided coming from the xlr aren't long enough to reach my pids. What is the best way to go about extending them? Can I simply use butt crimp connectors with heat shrink tubing or does wire this small need to be soldered? I have soldered copper, but never anything electrical and would like to avoid it if at all possible. Thanks in advance...wnc

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:24 PM   #2
jfrizzell
Recipes 
 
Jun 2007
Iowa
Posts: 686
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts


That's my one complaint about those probes and what's keeping me from ordering them right now. 12" from the connector to the spade connectors on the leads just doesn't seem long enough. Wish they had an option for a longer set of leads.

As for extending, you could butt splice them, but I'd probably run them to a terminal strip and then run another wire from there to your PID controller.

Use something like this:

__________________
Primary: Pliney the Elder Clone
Kegged: Tank 7 / Saison Brett

http://untappd.com/abbayeduchatnoir

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:18 PM   #3
BWN
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Dexter, NY
Posts: 702
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


I am contemplating emailing them and seeing if they would extend the 12" piece to 24". 12" seems too small to me too.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:21 PM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


No problem at all extending a RTD probe's wiring.

It is a whole 'nother' ball game if the probe is a type 'K'.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:26 PM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by BWN View Post
I am contemplating emailing them and seeing if they would extend the 12" piece to 24". 12" seems too small to me too.
Call them. I'm sure that the owner would be more than willing to help you.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:26 PM   #6
stellaontap
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
stellaontap's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2010
London, Ontario
Posts: 203
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


Make sure that all the wires are the same lenght though.

Eric

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:04 PM   #7
wncbrewer
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
sylva, NC
Posts: 431
Liked 15 Times on 13 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jfrizzell
That's my one complaint about those probes and what's keeping me from ordering them right now. 12" from the connector to the spade connectors on the leads just doesn't seem long enough. Wish they had an option for a longer set of leads.

As for extending, you could butt splice them, but I'd probably run them to a terminal strip and then run another wire from there to your PID controller.

Use something like this:
Gosh, don't know why I didn't think of that...I have tons of empty space left on the terminal strips I used to wire up power and pumps...thanks everyone

Ps-this is my only complaint with the probes. Other wise I think it was well worth the extra nine bucks for the deluxe upgrade

BrewBeemer Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:11 PM   #8
BWN
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Dexter, NY
Posts: 702
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Call them. I'm sure that the owner would be more than willing to help you.
I emailed them with a question once and they responded in less than 2 hours. I have to assume they value customer service highly. I will report back when I get a reply.

P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:14 PM   #9
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Optional Deluxe Cable. The standard cable supplied with sensor is shown in the above picture. It is 6 ft (2 meters) long, color-coded three-conductor cable with two layers of TEFLON insulation that is very strong and weather resistant. Based on the customer's feedback and request, now we are also offering the deluxe cable for the probe: an 8 ft long TEFLON insulated cable with stainless steal braid for more protection. This cable also comes with a pair of panel mount connector on the other end. The mating connector of the panel mount connector has 1 ft of TEFLON cable installed. User can use this cable without any soldering work.
Liquid Tight RTD Sensor, 2 Probe, Weldless Fitting

Seems like the description of the product says a lot.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 01:35 AM   #10
BWN
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Dexter, NY
Posts: 702
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


I have probes I already bought but they are not the deluxe cables and I wired them too far away from my pids where 12" won't reach. I can rewire them and drill new holes in my control box if I need to.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump