Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Main power wire gauge for 50A panel
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2012, 03:23 AM   #1
summerofgeorge
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 307
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default Main power wire gauge for 50A panel

I've searched the forum and can't see to find a consistent answer for this. What size wire should I use to go from a 50A breaker in my main panel to a 50A spa panel with GFCI to my control panel? I feel like I've seen both 6 and 8 gauge copper THHN recommended. Also, is conduit needed or can the wire just be run through the wall?

I know there are a lot of other things that factor into this so here are some details...

Spa panel will be within a few feet of my main panel in my garage, which is drywalled.
Probably go with a 12-15' power cable to run from spa panel to control panel.
Including option to run 2 elements at the same time so will be pulling 45+ amps occasionally.

I'm going to have someone install the breaker and spa panel but wanted to be able to tell them exactly what I need and why. It's a friend of a friend of a friend type thing so I'd rather be able to have everything ready for them to just install it.


summerofgeorge is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 03:31 AM   #2
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,377
Liked 945 Times on 634 Posts
Likes Given: 777

Default

#6 is the way to go. For such a short run, why go with 8? You may save a few dollars but will not technically be "NEC legal". I'd use 6 then when you add a few amps in the future you will not have to worry.

Edit: conduit depends on the application and your local codes. My brewery feed is in conduit but is not required to be...I'm sure that doesn't help you


lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 05:02 PM   #3
summerofgeorge
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 307
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Thanks Ischiavo! Are you recommending using #6 for both the short run to the spa panel and also for the 12-15' main power cord?

The main reason I'm asking about all of this is safety/code...the other reason is that I'm trying to figure out how I'm going to distribute the power inside my panel. I want my terminal blocks or din blocks to be able to handle the incoming wire size.
summerofgeorge is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 10:06 PM   #4
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,377
Liked 945 Times on 634 Posts
Likes Given: 777

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by summerofgeorge View Post
Thanks Ischiavo! Are you recommending using #6 for both the short run to the spa panel and also for the 12-15' main power cord?

The main reason I'm asking about all of this is safety/code...the other reason is that I'm trying to figure out how I'm going to distribute the power inside my panel. I want my terminal blocks or din blocks to be able to handle the incoming wire size.
Yes, I would use 6 between the breaker and the terminal block in your control panel.

I really like these blocks and have used them in several panels:

http://www.elecdirect.com/product/66...7ea6ffdbd.aspx

You can run your 6 in and tap off to your fusing. They work nice. I usually put in four for the hots, neutral and ground.
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 12:05 AM   #5
hatrickwah
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 263
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by summerofgeorge View Post
Thanks Ischiavo! Are you recommending using #6 for both the short run to the spa panel and also for the 12-15' main power cord?

The main reason I'm asking about all of this is safety/code...the other reason is that I'm trying to figure out how I'm going to distribute the power inside my panel. I want my terminal blocks or din blocks to be able to handle the incoming wire size.
I have 6 running from my panel to the spa to the control panel. Into DINs. The DINs I used can handle the 6# upto 22#. Quick and easy.

__________________
Keeping busy brewing & building.

Electric Brewing Supply

My e-Brewery | Keezer Build & Tap Tower Refurbish |Glycol System
hatrickwah is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 12:43 AM   #6
gtmaus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 161
Liked 22 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

electrician here. You need 6 awg for 50 amps
gtmaus is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 12:52 AM   #7
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtmaus View Post
electrician here. You need 6 awg for 50 amps
That is a huge "depends":

http://www.cerrowire.com/ampacity-charts

Depends on the wire rating and conductor rating.

Take a look at the chart.!
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 01:00 AM   #8
gtmaus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 161
Liked 22 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
That is a huge "depends":

http://www.cerrowire.com/ampacity-charts

Depends on the wire rating and conductor rating.

Take a look at the chart.!
Of course there's a lot more to it. You need to consider ambient temp, raceway (conduit or open air), number of conductors ampacity derating percentages and insulation type. I was just making it easier for him. I know what I do for a living.
gtmaus is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 01:13 AM   #9
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtmaus View Post
...
I know what I do for a living.
Understood. No problem - However - I took exception to the blanket statement that was made. There is one hell of a lot more to it than that.

It's like the other issue that I have a hard time ignoring. The "percentage rule" for the power draw on a electrical outlet circuit. There is more to it than most "electricians" seem to realize.

Another thing... Never mind - it no longer matters.
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 01:20 AM   #10
gtmaus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 161
Liked 22 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Understood. No problem - However - I took exception to the blanket statement that was made. There is one hell of a lot more to it than that.

It's like the other issue that I have a hard time ignoring. The "percentage rule" for the power draw on a electrical outlet circuit. There is more to it than most "electricians" seem to realize.

Another thing... Never mind - it no longer matters.
no worries here. I was just trying to keep it simple and help. 6 awg is what I would run if it was in my house.


gtmaus is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what gauge wire? bagpiperjosh Electric Brewing 8 04-13-2012 11:52 PM
What guage wire from main panel to spa panel? AdamCanFly Electric Brewing 22 02-01-2012 03:36 AM
Gauge of ground wire GRHunter Electric Brewing 12 05-25-2011 10:26 PM
Any issue using larger gauge wire? adivito Electric Brewing 7 04-11-2011 09:45 PM
Heatstick 12 gauge electrical wire/cord? redalert Electric Brewing 11 01-07-2011 04:09 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS