Stc-1000 wiring - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > Stc-1000 wiring

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2012, 11:22 PM   #11
carlisle_bob
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Carlisle, PA
Posts: 1,205
Liked 29 Times on 28 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by raouliii View Post
This brings up a very important point given th OPs lack of electrical knowledge.

bytor2012
Make sure you purchased the correct STC-1000, marked 110VAC. If it is marked 220VAC or 12V, its not the right one.
Hi

I have some major concerns every time I chime in on one of these threads. Are we enabling somebody to undertake a potentially dangerous task without any idea if they can handle it?

None of this is anything that would be tough work for your typical electrician. If all the parts are on hand it's maybe 20 minutes of work. Around here you might pay $70 to have one do the final hookup and make sure it's ok. That may be the best advice for a lot of people.

Bob

RoDog1 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 12:01 AM   #12
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 1,015
Liked 118 Times on 102 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by carlisle_bob View Post
......That may be the best advice for a lot of people.

Bob
Agreed.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 12:30 PM   #13
bytor2012
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
wilmington, de
Posts: 47
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


OK...I wired it up and it works. Or at least the power works. I wired it to one receptical using the top for hot and the bottom for cold. Here's my problem now...when plugged into either outlet the freezer temp is not controlled, it just continuously goes down into the negative temp range. I have it set to 15 degrees and it won't even get near there. Where do I begin troubleshooting?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 01:09 PM   #14
fermentednonsense
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Posts: 538
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


Do you have your probe in water or air?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 01:15 PM   #15
bytor2012
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
wilmington, de
Posts: 47
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Air.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 01:32 PM   #16
carlisle_bob
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Carlisle, PA
Posts: 1,205
Liked 29 Times on 28 Posts


Hi

Tape the probe to the inside wall of the freezer. You want the tip to be about half way to 2/3 way down the wall. If it's over the hump that's fine, just make sure it's out of the way from where kegs might scrape it off as you take them in and out. Aluminum foil tape is the best thing to use. Duct / Duck / Gorilla tape also works.

Bob

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 03:52 PM   #17
bytor2012
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
wilmington, de
Posts: 47
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Figured it out. And it's up and running. Thanks for the help!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 04:43 PM   #18
carlisle_bob
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Carlisle, PA
Posts: 1,205
Liked 29 Times on 28 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by bytor2012 View Post
Figured it out. And it's up and running. Thanks for the help!
Hi

GREAT!!

You probably will have to fiddle a little bit to get the kegs at the right temperature. An offset of a couple degrees between the controller and the beer temperature is not at all uncommon.

Bob

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 01:11 PM   #19
HBrew71
 
HBrew71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2011
Sugar Land
Posts: 219
Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts


Subscribed

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:05 AM   #20
pjcampbell
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Fayston, VT
Posts: 201
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Does the STC1000 have "CE" marking? I thought I saw it in one of the pictures, but I don't see it on the latest ebay listings.

Some of the pictures on Ebay have it, others don't? I'm sure they are the same unit though.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump