Stc-1000 wiring - Page 13 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > Stc-1000 wiring

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2013, 01:25 AM   #121
JuanMoore
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
The Old Pueblo
Posts: 22,389
Liked 3743 Times on 3552 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdboy View Post
Ah, I didn't know that. How long is the delay?
See my edit above. IIRC factory setting is 3 min.
__________________
I'm trying to find some porn filmed by a dog wearing a GoPro. - SharonaZamboni

Hunter, when you get bored, will you put a taco in my elephant's hands for me? - Hat

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:30 AM   #122
Hang Glider
Beer Drinker
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Hang Glider's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2007
North Augusta, SC
Posts: 3,215
Liked 204 Times on 152 Posts


I don't have the STC (using the love TSS2) but with any controller -

use a couple of lamps - and have some warm water and ice water - then move the probe from one to the other and see if the lamps come on appropriately - that way you're not hard-cycling your compressor during the test/troubleshoot phase.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:43 AM   #123
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Los Angeles
Posts: 8,216
Liked 492 Times on 397 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hang Glider View Post
I don't have the STC (using the love TSS2) but with any controller -

use a couple of lamps - and have some warm water and ice water - then move the probe from one to the other and see if the lamps come on appropriately - that way you're not hard-cycling your compressor during the test/troubleshoot phase.
Was this advice directed at me? Of course I was using a lamp to test it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:34 AM   #124
catmandu1999
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Jan 2013
Eastern Shore, MD
Posts: 20
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdboy View Post
Ah, I didn't know that. How long is the delay?
As Bugs Bunny would say, "What a Maroon!"

I, too, was a dumbass today. Finally figured out the bloken engrish of the instructions, and waited the required 3 mins, heard a click, saw a light, got power to the plug! All is well, hope that is your only problem as well.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:54 AM   #125
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Los Angeles
Posts: 8,216
Liked 492 Times on 397 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by catmandu1999 View Post
As Bugs Bunny would say, "What a Maroon!"

I, too, was a dumbass today. Finally figured out the bloken engrish of the instructions, and waited the required 3 mins, heard a click, saw a light, got power to the plug! All is well, hope that is your only problem as well.
Yeah, that was the issue. I tested it again after finding that out and it worked like a charm. Now I feel stupid for wasting all that time trying to fix a problem that didn't exist.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 02:27 AM   #126
Spinrathen
 
Spinrathen's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2013
Posts: 147
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


subbed.
__________________
Thank you Jerry!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 09:38 PM   #127
jman
Recipes 
 
Oct 2008
Posts: 128
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post

Mine is wired up to have one set of sockets always on, so I'm not tying up my wall socket all the time. I can run the vacuum if I want. Then one 2-sided outlet for heater and one 2-sided outlet for cooling.


this diagram is excellent and extremely helpful, as i plan on giving both the hot side and cold side their own set of sockets, as well as an 'aways on' set of sockets. one question though:
how could i add a switch to ONE of the 'always on' sockets? i'd like to have some rope lighting in my fermentation chamber that i can turn on with an external switch.

at the very least, i know i need to break the plate between hots on the 'always on' set of sockets, i'm just not positive whatelse needs to be done to add the switch.

anyone have a diagram for this addition? is this possible?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:08 PM   #128
Hang Glider
Beer Drinker
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Hang Glider's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2007
North Augusta, SC
Posts: 3,215
Liked 204 Times on 152 Posts


You would break it on the rope light, not on this schematic. Break ONE leg of the rope light with a switch.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 06:12 PM   #129
jrodder
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Streetsboro, Ohio
Posts: 138
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts


Stupid question, but in an install like this, you are plugging in the chest freezer to the cooling outlet, and the lamp/heating to the hot right? I was thinking about trying to mount it all internally and have the compressor just run right from the STC, and then heat from an outlet, or maybe even wire in a wall mounted light socket directly from the inside.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 06:46 PM   #130
LowNotes
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Alexandria, VA
Posts: 284
Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts


Stupid question time: Does this automatically cycle back-and-forth between heating/cooling depending on the temp the probe is exposed to, or does it requier a manual switch to change it back and forth? Seems like it would be stupid and not worth it if it ISN'T automatic...and I am 99% sure that is exaclty what was being discussed with the 3 minute delay...but I didn't see it explicitly stated (admittedly I only read piecs of the thread) and the descriptions online are terribly written. I am hoping this is "set-it and forget-it", as I might actually start making plans to make one...but if it doesn't work automatically it is definitely not going to work for me.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump