Induction Cooktop - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Induction Cooktop

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2012, 12:23 AM   #1
Nil
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Canton, Ohio
Posts: 141
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts



I would like to know if someone has used an induction cook-top for home brewing and what is their experience.

If I am right, in theory one would achieve better temperature control, especially when performing multiple infusions.

Thanks, Nil

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 12:38 AM   #2
Ryush806
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ryush806's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2010
Shreveport, Louisiana
Posts: 789
Liked 92 Times on 64 Posts


I don't know about better temperature control, but I don't see having great luck with a full boil on a stove top. I used to do it with two gas burners on my apartment stove but I had to have a heat stick to actually get a good boil.
__________________
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.
- Benjamin Franklin (and I don't care if this quote has been largely discredited/misquoted...I like it!)

Beer, if drank with moderation, softens the temper, cheers the spirit and promotes health.
- Thomas Jefferson

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 12:40 AM   #3
JollyIsTheRoger
 
JollyIsTheRoger's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Northwest Indiana/Chicago
Posts: 520
Liked 29 Times on 23 Posts


I would think the problem would be finding a pot big enough to boil in that works on inductions. This is assuming that I am remembering right and you need special cookware on them.
__________________
Small homebrew facebook group for trading, advice, and general bragging. PM me if you join- http://www.facebook.com/groups/256122024462215/
One gallon brewing blog http://onegallonbrewing.blogspot.com/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 12:57 AM   #4
Nil
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Canton, Ohio
Posts: 141
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Folks, I am not interested in boiling. I am more interested for mashing in order to stay away from a tun & adding boiling water for temp adjustment.

Thanks, Nil

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 12:59 AM   #5
kellanv
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Austin, Texas
Posts: 148
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


The only requirement for induction stoves is that the pot is magnetic. Stainless steel is not necessarily magnetic however. We have several pots that were stainless but would not register on our induction hot plate.

I tried to brew on an induction hot plate one time which ended up taking about an hour to bring to strike temp. On a more powerful system it might work better but as much as I like induction it doesn't seem to work well for brewing.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:12 AM   #6
Ryush806
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ryush806's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2010
Shreveport, Louisiana
Posts: 789
Liked 92 Times on 64 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nil View Post
If I am right, in theory one would achieve better temperature control, especially when performing multiple infusions.
Might work if you're just worried about mash temp control. What's the reasoning behind this theory of yours?
__________________
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.
- Benjamin Franklin (and I don't care if this quote has been largely discredited/misquoted...I like it!)

Beer, if drank with moderation, softens the temper, cheers the spirit and promotes health.
- Thomas Jefferson

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:08 PM   #7
Nil
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Canton, Ohio
Posts: 141
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Ryush806,

The fact that the temperature increase in due to a magnetic field, this means that the cooktop would turn the pot into a virtual jacketed container.

As Einstein said: "Never lose a holy curiosity. "

Thanks, Nil

Thanks, Nil

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 03:03 PM   #8
Calichusetts
 
Calichusetts's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Plymouth, MA
Posts: 3,007
Liked 495 Times on 297 Posts


I use this and it works amazing for keeping temp. It took a few batches to get the hang of the temp control but its awesome. Takes 18 minutes for me to get to strike temp, slide it to an off burner, then stir in grains...let it sit for5-10 minutes, then slide it on to the warm burner but off. You might have to stir every once in a while to reduce the heat but it holds for an hour pretty steady for me. I also boil on it without much issue, and mine is quite old

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 04:30 PM   #9
Nil
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Canton, Ohio
Posts: 141
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Calichusetts: how many Watts does your equipment use? 1300 or 1800?

Thanks, Nil

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 05:23 PM   #10
Calichusetts
 
Calichusetts's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Plymouth, MA
Posts: 3,007
Liked 495 Times on 297 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nil View Post
Calichusetts: how many Watts does your equipment use? 1300 or 1800?

Thanks, Nil
Here is the brand new version my model...its slightly different. Mine has a 9 inch on the front right, these have two 8 inch. They say the 8 inch is 2000 watts so I will guess mine is in the same range since its at least 4-5 years old:

http://www.homedepot.com/Appliances-...kuId=202603384

New ranges, even cheap ones can come with up to a 12 inch burner, I REALLY want one and will definitely work it into the remodel we plan for the kitchen...most 12 inch tops put out 3000 minimum. Most pots in the 5 gallon range are also around 12-14 inches so it will work perfect

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Induction Cooktop Brewing For 3.5gal Batch Lennie Equipment/Sanitation 0 02-04-2012 10:33 PM
BTUs needed on kitchen gas cooktop for partial boils? Pezman1 Equipment/Sanitation 2 06-18-2011 02:40 PM
Induction [again] maztec Equipment/Sanitation 30 07-30-2010 01:04 AM
Gas Cooktop SpaghettiMonster Equipment/Sanitation 4 06-06-2009 05:19 AM
Cleaning Glass Cooktop mZnthebend Equipment/Sanitation 8 05-20-2008 12:38 PM


Forum Jump