Refrigerator thermostat controller - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Refrigerator thermostat controller
Cool Brewing Giveaway - Supporting Membership Drive & Discount

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2012, 05:16 AM   #1
grssmnperez
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 147


Is there an aftermarket thermostat controller that i can wire up to a prospective fermenting fridge that i got in a spare room?



 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 06:12 AM   #2
BluBruShack
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Boise, ID
Posts: 100
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


There are a couple out there and they are not that expensive here is a link

http://www.midwestsupplies.com/homeb...e-control.html

Hope this helps

-BBS


__________________
----------------------------------------------------------------
Up Next: Dopplebock
Primary: European IPA
Secondary: Empty :(
Keg: Pumpkin Amber Ale, Skeeter Pee(why not?)
Conditioning: Cherry Canadian Blonde, Belgian Abbey Ale

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:03 PM   #3
julioardz
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Posts: 370
Liked 66 Times on 51 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by BluBruShack View Post
There are a couple out there and they are not that expensive here is a link

http://www.midwestsupplies.com/homeb...e-control.html

Hope this helps

-BBS
I have the analog thermostat control seen on that link, and it has worked out fine. The temperature shifts up and down about 3-4 degrees, according to the temperature strip. I duct tape the probe to the side of my bucket and set the thermostat dial about 4 degrees F lower than what I want. If I want to ferment at around 60-62F, I'll set the dial at 56. The temperature on the strip will then read 59-61. I have taken the temperature of the wort/beer, and it's about a degree or two higher.

My controller has has a copper probe and wire, not like the silver one shown in that link, but otherwise, it's the same controller. The entire wire is a hard copper wire that bends instead of flexing. With time, the wire has a lot of kinks and bends in it. It's not that big of an issue, but I use a compact fridge, so the wire is a little hard to work with when I'm pulling the bucket out to take hydrometer readings. If the digital probe has an insulated flexible wire, which it looks like it does, I would prefer that.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:21 PM   #4
ArcaneXor
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
Posts: 4,467
Liked 117 Times on 104 Posts


I recommend the Johnson Controls A419 digital thermostat. It allows you to set the differential as well as a time delay that prevents the compressor from constantly kicking on.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:02 PM   #5
grssmnperez
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 147

This is a full size fridge that i gutted out (shelves). Is there something that can be easily acquired like at home depot, lowes, etc.?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 04:20 PM   #6
william_shakes_beer
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Maryland
Posts: 2,487
Liked 203 Times on 162 Posts


I use this controller. http://www.amazon.com/Control-Produc.../dp/B0057APR3I
Wired it to a duplex receptacle, mounted the entire mess on a piece of plywood with 2 hooks on the back and hangs from the rim of the freezer. If you're looking for a temp controller, I'd recommend dual stage. One heat, one cool. Even if you don't think you'll need it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 04:21 PM   #7
william_shakes_beer
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Maryland
Posts: 2,487
Liked 203 Times on 162 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by grssmnperez View Post
This is a full size fridge that i gutted out (shelves). Is there something that can be easily acquired like at home depot, lowes, etc.?
I got a 5 CF chest freezer brand new from Lowes for $120. Fits one fermenter perfectly.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 09:38 PM   #8
grssmnperez
Recipes 
 
May 2012
Posts: 147

No, i meant to override the stock thermostat if the fridge to bring it above refrigeration temps.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 02:51 PM   #9
william_shakes_beer
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Maryland
Posts: 2,487
Liked 203 Times on 162 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by grssmnperez View Post
No, i meant to override the stock thermostat if the fridge to bring it above refrigeration temps.
I use a chest freezer that is designed to freeze. Basically turn the freezer all the way down to cold and plug it into the controller receptacle. The actual temp is maintianed by the new tstat, that cycles power on and off.



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump