Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 6" Depth Control Panel -- Will it work?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2012, 09:51 PM   #1
bolts
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 306
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default 6" Depth Control Panel -- Will it work?

Grumble... was sent the wrong size. I received my control panel enclosure from Pioneer Breaker today. I had ordered a 14x14x8 -- but it was out of stock until July. After a couple rounds of email and a phone call, they decided to send out a 16x16 -- however, they neglected to tell me it was 6" depth, I would have taken the 12" depth. Long story short, anyone shoving their PIDs and relays in a 6" depth enclosure?

edit: After a phone call w/ Pioneer Breaker we swapped it out for a 16x16x12. Great customer service, easy to get on the phone too. Won't have any problems with this size and it'll make some future plans easier.


bolts is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 11:10 PM   #2
aquenne
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Paris, Ontario
Posts: 226
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

6" should be fine if you are mounting a standard 1/16 pid (like the aubers).

they are around 4" deep.

So just watch your component placement behind the pid (leave adequate spacing of a few inches for door swing) and you should be fine.


aquenne is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 01:23 AM   #3
jtkratzer
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jtkratzer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lititz, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,807
Liked 38 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

You won't get anything behind it except for terminal blocks. Contactors and breakers are all going to be too tall. Check out the link in my sig line and for two PIDs, I wouldn't go any smaller than 16x12x8. I found the space to be fairly tight for what I was working with.
jtkratzer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 01:58 AM   #4
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fenton, MO
Posts: 946
Liked 37 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 92

Default

But you have a 16x16 so more surface mounting space. Go for it.
__________________
My RIMS eBrewery build
stlbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 02:08 AM   #5
iijakii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tualatin, OR
Posts: 2,266
Liked 265 Times on 189 Posts
Likes Given: 341

Default

As long as you don't place your inside goodies close to the PID you're golden.
iijakii is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 02:29 AM   #6
hampdenbrewing
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Agawam, Ma
Posts: 68
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Panel size

I'm adding a second panel to accomodate the power distribution and circuit breakers. No cramming components in or clearance problems that way.
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-05-20_21-18-04_166.jpg
Views:	269
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	63106  
hampdenbrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 02:57 AM   #7
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,367
Liked 942 Times on 632 Posts
Likes Given: 775

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hampdenbrewing
I'm adding a second panel to accomodate the power distribution and circuit breakers. No cramming components in or clearance problems that way.
It is fine for most of us ...maybe not for you. If that pic is real ..
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 10:18 AM   #8
devilbrewer75
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 113
Default

I think mine is 6x6x6
devilbrewer75 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 04:58 PM   #9
bdjohns1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sun Prairie, Wi
Posts: 315
Liked 35 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquenne
6" should be fine if you are mounting a standard 1/16 pid (like the aubers).

they are around 4" deep.

So just watch your component placement behind the pid (leave adequate spacing of a few inches for door swing) and you should be fine.
I got 3 auberins 1/16 PIDs, a contactor, 2 SSRs, DIN rail breakers, a safe start relay, 6 selector switches (some with double stacked contact blocks), and a 110 duplex receptacle in a 12x12x6.

I don't have a photo handy, but the basic gist of the layout is something like this. Divide into 3 rows. Top left, the power comes in. Remainder of the top is the SSRs and relays for the heating elements. Middle 3rd is the three PIDs. All of their wiring routes to the inside surface of the faceplate, then into the enclosure in 2 bundles (one for power wiring, one for the controls wiring). Bottom row has the breakers and DIN terminal blocks, switches on the faceplate, outlet mounted through the side.

Power to the elements is routed out the top right via a watertight conduit to a pair of boxes for the element plugs.


bdjohns1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Panel Help Rion Electric Brewing 15 04-28-2012 05:23 PM
Using A Retired Service Panel For A Control Panel kgalle Electric Brewing 2 04-25-2012 11:52 AM
60 amp control panel help Mb2658 Electric Brewing 3 02-09-2012 02:58 AM
Mounting spa panel guts in control panel kevink Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 02:31 AM
Control panel stokems Electric Brewing 1 06-19-2011 10:56 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS