STC 1000 "Ebay" Temperature Controller Build - Page 7 - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > STC 1000 "Ebay" Temperature Controller Build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2012, 04:49 PM   #61
porcupine73
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
Fort Meade
Posts: 813
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts


Oh that looks neat. I don't see why you couldn't use that. You can also probably get the thermostat in it just set where you want, at least for the cooling. Naturally would still need a heat source as well if the ambient temp is going to be below your desired ferment temp. That style might be easier to use for 1 gallon batches because of the shelves.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 05:01 PM   #62
wmarkw
Recipes 
 
Oct 2011
Evans, GA
Posts: 131
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


Ahh yes that makes sense. It will be in my garage which doesnt get much light. Cool.
__________________
Maya Jane Brewing Co.
Evans, GA

Primary #2 Yooper Ale w/ a hop twist
Primary #3 Lake Front IPA clone
Primary #4 Amber Ale

Bottled: Gaelic Ale Highland Brewing Co. Clone
Bottled: Terrapin Rye Pale Ale
Bottled: Fruit Looper Ale

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:30 AM   #63
Garyr2973
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Louisville,KY
Posts: 184
Liked 16 Times on 12 Posts


Anyone know what kind of temp probes these use?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 03:49 PM   #64
porcupine73
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
Fort Meade
Posts: 813
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Garyr2973 View Post
Anyone know what kind of temp probes these use?
Believe it to be a simple thermistor. It includes the probe. It's definitely not an RTD.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 05:33 PM   #65
JuanMoore
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
The Old Pueblo
Posts: 21,985
Liked 3693 Times on 3514 Posts


NTC thermistor, 10k @ 25C, 3435 beta.
__________________
I'm trying to find some porn filmed by a dog wearing a GoPro. - SharonaZamboni

Hunter, when you get bored, will you put a taco in my elephant's hands for me? - Hat

porcupine73 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 01:44 PM   #66
mike191
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Posts: 14

Be aware that some EBAY sellers have jacked the price 10X because "low supply". I asked the question and he answered.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:04 PM   #67
nickw85
Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Chicopee, MA
Posts: 75
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
Quite a lot of us have ordered them from Ebay Seller Mixtea. His turnaround from China is really fast. I ordered 2 more of them on Monday, and it looks like according to the tracking info I should have them when I get home.

This will be the third I've ordered from him. His state whether or not they are 110. Here.
That's a good piece of mind. I happened to order one from him a few hours ago for a build.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:32 PM   #68
sinisterkid
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Steubenville, ohio
Posts: 60
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts


I pick one up from amazon and it came straight from china. It took maybe ten days to get to my door. Same price as the ebay one and free shipping.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:59 PM   #69
Adamb258
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Dallas, Texas
Posts: 81

I will be running the standard build of this unit on a GE 7 Cuf chest freezer. Should I also be adding a 10a fuse before the unit? I read through A LOT of the megathread and never noticed anyone mentioning adding a fuse.

Thanks

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:16 PM   #70
porcupine73
Recipes 
 
Aug 2012
Fort Meade
Posts: 813
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts


In this application, a fuse isn't really necessary, since you have the upstream breaker at 15A or 20A. Obviously you would need to bear in mind you wouldn't really want a continuous load of more than 10A on it. The relays apparantely say 15A on them, but that doesn't necessarily mean the screw connectors and solder traces on the board can handle that much. You could certainly put in a fuse if you want to. Some people like to have a 1A fuse going to the STC's control power. I would imagine it has a fusible link on the circuit board anyway for the control power though I could be wrong.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EBay temperature controller problem bloodonblood Kegerators & Keezers 15 02-29-2012 05:27 AM
Ebay Temp controller Displaying "HHH" mikelikesit2000 Fermenters 1 02-22-2012 03:03 PM
Ebay Temperature Controller Problem BigPatBrewer Fermenters 4 01-25-2012 10:15 PM
Reviews for heating element and controller in-one "Electric Sparge/Mashing Heater" kegtoe Brew Stands 26 12-17-2010 09:52 PM
Cheap controller - "freezer conversion thermostat" ThreeDogsNE Kegerators & Keezers 3 06-05-2010 05:36 PM


Forum Jump