STC 1000 "Ebay" Temperature Controller Build - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > STC 1000 "Ebay" Temperature Controller Build
Cool Brewing Giveaway - Supporting Membership Drive & Discount

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2012, 11:27 PM   #1
goldenislesbrewsupply
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Posts: 425
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts



The price on these has dropped. They are running around $14 shipped now.

http://www.amazon.com/s/?_encoding=U...EL3N2AM3WB3ZX7


Here is my wiring diagram:




I went with 2 outlets, because i want my cooling outlet to control the fridge and a fan that'll move air around in the chamber.



4
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:00 PM   #2
jasonclick
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Green Cove Springs, FL
Posts: 146
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


I've checked these out on ebay but they all say that they need 220VAC power supply. Is there a selection somewhere to also use 120?



 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:07 PM   #3
Double-R
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Newburgh,NY
Posts: 315
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts


From USA
http://www.ebay.com/itm/50-to-99-Deg...item2570b20b00

From china

http://www.ebay.com/itm/30-Off-110V-...item3cc6101acb
__________________
I kiddd,I kiddd.. I joke with U..,

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:08 PM   #4
lizardeye
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
New Bedford, MA
Posts: 62
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


There are 110v versions on eBay.You just have to look for them.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:10 PM   #5
jasonclick
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Green Cove Springs, FL
Posts: 146
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


thanks

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 05:16 PM   #6
goldenislesbrewsupply
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Posts: 425
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


Most of the sites automatically send the 110v version if you live in the US. When in doubt ,contact the seller

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:04 PM   #7
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Revvy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
"Detroitish" Michigan
Posts: 40,890
Liked 3158 Times on 1869 Posts


Quite a lot of us have ordered them from Ebay Seller Mixtea. His turnaround from China is really fast. I ordered 2 more of them on Monday, and it looks like according to the tracking info I should have them when I get home.

This will be the third I've ordered from him. His state whether or not they are 110. Here.
__________________
Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman

I gotta tell ya, just between us girls, that Revvy is HOT. Very tall, gorgeous grey hair and a terrific smile. He's very good looking in person, with a charismatic personality... he drives like a ****ing maniac! - YooperBrew

2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 07:19 PM   #8
lincoln
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
san jose, ca
Posts: 205
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


just one thing to point out that the contacts are only rated for 10 amps. A pair of fuses would be a good thing to add. For my deep freeze I had to run an external relay.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atonk View Post
... beer perv i guess that's me

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:30 PM   #9
Huaco
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Huaco's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Just south of Cow Town, Tx
Posts: 1,364
Liked 139 Times on 87 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by lincoln View Post
just one thing to point out that the contacts are only rated for 10 amps. A pair of fuses would be a good thing to add. For my deep freeze I had to run an external relay.
Would the fuse block go inline between the power-in line and the component? Would it just be a 10 Amp fuse to protect the 10 Amp controller?
Also, could you expand on your external relay idea? I plan to control a refrigerator or a deep freeze with mine that I built this weekend, but have not put it under load yet...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:41 PM   #10
divi2323
Recipes 
 
Oct 2011
Blue Island, IL
Posts: 376
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by lincoln View Post
just one thing to point out that the contacts are only rated for 10 amps. A pair of fuses would be a good thing to add. For my deep freeze I had to run an external relay.
yay! a search pulled up a thread similar to my situation. Have a question for your external relay setup as well. I've got a similar temp controller (one channel only for cooling though). Seems as though my compressor draw amperage is higher than the rated capacity of the switching controller internally. (5 amps on the controller circuit vs 5 amps operating draw on the compressor, meaning the draw to get the compressor motor going is more than 5) My compressor will not kick on when the circut detects it's time to start cooling. My solution is going to be an external relay but i'm not sure which type of relay to use.

my switching circuit is 120v/5A, but the power side of the relay needs to be 120v/10A or 15A. I've found some relays on radio-shaft's website, but not sure what i need. Can you maybe elaborate on what relay i would need to drive it? SPDT, DPDT etc?



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EBay temperature controller problem bloodonblood Kegerators & Keezers 15 02-29-2012 05:27 AM
Ebay Temp controller Displaying "HHH" mikelikesit2000 Fermenters 1 02-22-2012 03:03 PM
Ebay Temperature Controller Problem BigPatBrewer Fermenters 4 01-25-2012 10:15 PM
Reviews for heating element and controller in-one "Electric Sparge/Mashing Heater" kegtoe Brew Stands 26 12-17-2010 09:52 PM
Cheap controller - "freezer conversion thermostat" ThreeDogsNE Kegerators & Keezers 3 06-05-2010 05:36 PM


Forum Jump