Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 40A cord in a 30A plug
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2012, 04:38 PM   #1
njbabs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 50
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default 40A cord in a 30A plug

A recent eBay purchase ended up being a 40A 3 prong cord (not the 30A advertised). Before I get the seller to refund their mistake I wanted to know: can you shave down the odd prong on the 40A plug to make it fit in a 30A 3 prong outlet?

The cord was cheap (if wrong) so if I can make it work with what I have, I probably will.


njbabs is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 08:13 PM   #2
landshark
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
landshark's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: lone jack, Missouri
Posts: 1,102
Liked 95 Times on 80 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

you can. If it was cheap do it. Check the other prongs will fit as well before doing it, Are they slanted or straight? I assume slanted if 3-prong.
landshark is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 09:06 PM   #3
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Just buy the correct plug and change it on the end of your cord.

Problem resolved.
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heatstick power cord tarponteaser Electric Brewing 4 08-26-2011 02:24 PM
Power Cord Question McCuckerson Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 09:54 PM
Do I have the right cord? BrewMoreBeers Electric Brewing 10 07-05-2011 03:50 PM
Power cord help MX1 Electric Brewing 5 02-27-2011 09:58 PM
240V adapter cord? ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 16 02-24-2011 01:33 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS