Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > Flanders Red Input

Old 05-10-2012, 01:24 PM   #1
bribo179
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default Flanders Red Input

After sampling a few Lambics and Flanders Reds I want to make some of my own. I'd like to age some of it on sour cherries and some possibly on cranberries.

I have been all grain brewing for awhile and have about 30 batches under my belt and I have enough patients to brew a beer and let it sit downstairs in my basement for a year or more. My question is...

What recipe would you guys recommend? I don't know if i want to do the Landers Fred recipe or maybe Jamil's recipe. I kind of like the idea of the Landers Fred, making 2 5 gallon batches staggered over 4-5 months and then blending them 50/50 and then letting them sit on my fruit for another few months.

I also was thinking about OldSock's Lambic 3 turbid mash ...but since this is my first attempt at a sour I want to start a bit easier than this.

Since I have never brewed a sour I really would like some input. The underlying beer needs to be something that would take readily to fruit.

Old 05-10-2012, 01:52 PM   #2
spearko520
Recipes 

Liked 57 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 210

the book wild brews by jeff sparrow has some pretty nice recipes in the back complete with mash and fermentation schedules. It's also a pretty good read if you are getting into these types of beers.

Old 05-10-2012, 02:35 PM   #3
microbusbrewery
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 140 Times on 108 Posts
Likes Given: 60

I brewed Jamil's Flanders Red from Brewing Classic Styles. Batch #1 was brewed last October and #2 was brewed last month. I haven't tasted #2 yet but #1 is tasting great. I've been fermenting in Better Bottles in a basement utility room and pitching dregs from commercial sours whenever I have them.

Old 05-10-2012, 04:09 PM   #4
bbarnumboy
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 14