wrong ssr ordered - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > wrong ssr ordered

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2012, 06:29 PM   #1
captainoverspray
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Muskego, WI
Posts: 85
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts



So I ordered my ssr's from an ebay seller and they were not described right in the listing. I have contacted the seller to see if I can get a return, guess that is what I get for trying to be cheap in my build. The SSR's are ac input with a 70-280VAC input. Could I still use these with a PID that has a relay output instead of the SSR DC output? I have a relay out PID that I use with my smoker that could be made dual purpose.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:37 PM   #2
Rbeckett
 
Rbeckett's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Bronson, Fl
Posts: 995
Liked 70 Times on 49 Posts


My SSR' were like 5 or 6 bucks a piece with 3-32 input DC and up to 280V AC out. They are good for 25A and there are 40 A units available for just a bit more. They come from china so it takes a while for them to get here through Ebay. An china tracking is non-existant so just plan to wait. I didn't even know that high volt inputs were even available like that on SSR's. Good luck and lets us know how it comes out with the return.
Bob
__________________
What do you mean "no Kidneys"???, WTF now I gotta drink less beer...
Join the Automation sub forum in Electric brewing for a discussion of components and control systems. I did!!!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 09:34 PM   #3
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Fenton, MO
Posts: 973
Liked 39 Times on 38 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by captainoverspray View Post
So I ordered my ssr's from an ebay seller and they were not described right in the listing. I have contacted the seller to see if I can get a return, guess that is what I get for trying to be cheap in my build. The SSR's are ac input with a 70-280VAC input. Could I still use these with a PID that has a relay output instead of the SSR DC output? I have a relay out PID that I use with my smoker that could be made dual purpose.


I guess i'm trying to understand what the problem is. Is your PID unable to supply the ac input voltage?

Check out this link from Auber Instruments on their 25A SSR's:http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...&products_id=9

Their parts are good. They ship from Atlanta, GA. It's a lot better than waiting forever to get parts.
__________________
My RIMS eBrewery build

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 09:44 PM   #4
captainoverspray
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Muskego, WI
Posts: 85
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


From what I see most PID's have 12VDC output that control the SSR. The Auber input control voltage on the SSR you linked to is 3-32VDC my SSR is 70-280VAC.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 10:49 PM   #5
zeus53219
 
zeus53219's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Milwaukee
Posts: 298
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


That's what I use. If your pid has a relay out option operate the ssr's with 120v.
Click image for larger version

Name:	20120417_203019.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	60121  

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OK I did something really wrong with this heatstick ReverseApacheMaster Electric Brewing 46 01-06-2011 06:22 AM


Forum Jump