Spike Brewing Giveaway - New v3 Kettle

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > E stop fuse blows
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2012, 04:28 PM   #1
bagpiperjosh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plum, Pennsylvania
Posts: 343
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default E stop fuse blows

Just finished my e brewery panel and was testing everything out and i noticed when i used the estop, the 1 amp fast blow fuse i used as per a pj diagram blew. Is that normal or did i screw something up?


bagpiperjosh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 04:54 PM   #2
kpr121
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 3,095
Liked 123 Times on 107 Posts
Likes Given: 162

Default

Does the GFCI trip? Sounds odd, since most GFCIs are set to trip the circuit at 0.06 amps or something like that....


__________________
Ferm Chamber on top of Keezer / Through Wall / All in One Build


Primary: Two Hearted Clone[B]
Secondary: Table Red Wine, Table White Wine
Kegged:Oberon Clone, "Campfire" Hoppy Red Ale, Brown Trout Stout, Cider
Bottled: Random stuff(Cider, Mead, Wines)
Bulk Aging: Red wine, Blueberry "Brandy"
Up Next: Citra Blonde, Kolsch, IPA, IPA, IPA
kpr121 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:03 PM   #3
bagpiperjosh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plum, Pennsylvania
Posts: 343
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpr121
Does the GFCI trip? Sounds odd, since most GFCIs are set to trip the circuit at 0.06 amps or something like that....
No. Just the inline fuse blows
bagpiperjosh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:19 PM   #4
kpr121
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 3,095
Liked 123 Times on 107 Posts
Likes Given: 162

Default

That’s definitely not a good sign then, you’ve got something going wrong there. The whole point of the E-Stop is to let a little bit of current out of the system and into ground, which the GFCI sees as a current lost and trips.

Do you have a wiring diagram that you used?
__________________
Ferm Chamber on top of Keezer / Through Wall / All in One Build


Primary: Two Hearted Clone[B]
Secondary: Table Red Wine, Table White Wine
Kegged:Oberon Clone, "Campfire" Hoppy Red Ale, Brown Trout Stout, Cider
Bottled: Random stuff(Cider, Mead, Wines)
Bulk Aging: Red wine, Blueberry "Brandy"
Up Next: Citra Blonde, Kolsch, IPA, IPA, IPA
kpr121 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:53 PM   #5
bagpiperjosh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plum, Pennsylvania
Posts: 343
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I dont know wtf im saying . Yea the gfi breaker tripped. Sorry brain fart
bagpiperjosh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:07 PM   #6
kpr121
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 3,095
Liked 123 Times on 107 Posts
Likes Given: 162

Default

Well that is a little better, but the GFCI shouldn’t let more than 1 amp escape the circuit through ground. Think if your body was that conveyance of electricity, you could die.

This question may sound stupid, but are you sure you have a 1 amp fuse and not a 1 mA (milli-amp) fuse?
__________________
Ferm Chamber on top of Keezer / Through Wall / All in One Build


Primary: Two Hearted Clone[B]
Secondary: Table Red Wine, Table White Wine
Kegged:Oberon Clone, "Campfire" Hoppy Red Ale, Brown Trout Stout, Cider
Bottled: Random stuff(Cider, Mead, Wines)
Bulk Aging: Red wine, Blueberry "Brandy"
Up Next: Citra Blonde, Kolsch, IPA, IPA, IPA
kpr121 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:14 PM   #7
bagpiperjosh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plum, Pennsylvania
Posts: 343
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpr121
Well that is a little better, but the GFCI shouldn’t let more than 1 amp escape the circuit through ground. Think if your body was that conveyance of electricity, you could die.

This question may sound stupid, but are you sure you have a 1 amp fuse and not a 1 mA (milli-amp) fuse?
Pretty sure. Ill double check the bag when i get home and find it
bagpiperjosh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 12:13 AM   #8
bagpiperjosh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plum, Pennsylvania
Posts: 343
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

yes it is a 1 amp fast blow 240 volt fuse
bagpiperjosh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 01:03 AM   #9
sdugre
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Holyoke, MA
Posts: 76
Default

Is there a resister in series with the fuse? You need one to limit the current.
sdugre is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 01:43 AM   #10
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,365
Liked 976 Times on 655 Posts
Likes Given: 849

Default

You should have hot-resistor-fuse-estop switch-ground. Any order works between hot and ground.

The fuse is redundant and potentially unsafe for a safety circuit IMO. You may have trouble with your GFCI breaker if it is tripping but still blowing a 1A fuse. The GFCI should trip long before you should be able to blow the fuse.


lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



Forum Jump