Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Kombucha & Fermented Tea Forum > Started fermenting a new batch. Is this mold?

Old 04-27-2012, 05:54 PM   #1
dbcoder
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Started fermenting a new batch. Is this mold?

Do I need to start over?

There are two small scobys from when I used a smaller container. I am concerned about the darker spots

Any advice would be great!

Old 04-28-2012, 05:35 PM   #2
st_brewer
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I'm a biotech student and I can tell you mould or funghi come in many different shapes and colours, to play it safe I would skim the trouble colonies with about a 2mm buffer zone to be on the safe side

Old 04-28-2012, 11:29 PM   #3
ThePonchoKid
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Are you using regular white sugar? Are you covering your container with a cloth or coffee filter paper? Was the water you added too warm?

I'm not sure what st brewer is talking about re: 2mm buffer

This is mold. It looks like a batch made with bad sugar, or the water was too hot to start off.

You can either grab a bottle of plain unpasteurized kombu from a health food store and start over, or you can try to pull out your socbys, rinse them under cool water. make a new brew medium, add oh i dunno... about 1tbsp of apple cider vinegar to it, an drop your rinsed socbys back in. I did the latter and everything worked fine. but grabbing a bottle of new kombo just might be easier

Old 04-29-2012, 03:02 AM   #4
copyright1997
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 44 Times on 37 Posts

How long has it been fermenting? If it is close to when it is supposed to be done, I wouldn't worry about it. If you just started fermentation (i.e. lots of sugar, not much alcohol), I would worry more.