Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Pressure cooker as autoclave?
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2012, 10:57 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 20
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Pressure cooker as autoclave?

Has anyone used a household pressure cooker as an autoclave, for there small yeast vials? I was tempted to place the really small vials and holder right into the pressure cooker for about 15-20 to get a sterile effect.

Placervillebrew is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:04 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Berthoud, Colorado
Posts: 70
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2


I personally have not, but I'm considering doing it. I do know a guy in one of the local homebrew clubs who has been doing it for years with great success. I also remember hearing Jamil Zainasheff talking about it on one of his podcasts. The idea is that you can have ready to pitch yeast available at the spur of the moment so that you can brew without much prep work. I like that idea. FYI, I recently met a couple homebrewers that just take dry yeast & sprinkle it into the wort, and they are very happy with their results....
marcopolo is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:07 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
zman's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denver.
Posts: 2,615
Liked 16 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 17


Yes I have done it and it works really well. I use a 500ML beaker to hold the vials and set the beaker on a SS trivet in the Pressure cooker. There is also this really hand thread http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f13/guid...st-bank-35891/
zman is offline
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Newest Threads