Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Pressure cooker as autoclave?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2012, 10:57 PM   #1
Placervillebrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 20
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Pressure cooker as autoclave?

Has anyone used a household pressure cooker as an autoclave, for there small yeast vials? I was tempted to place the really small vials and holder right into the pressure cooker for about 15-20 to get a sterile effect.


Placervillebrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:04 PM   #2
marcopolo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Berthoud, Colorado
Posts: 68
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I personally have not, but I'm considering doing it. I do know a guy in one of the local homebrew clubs who has been doing it for years with great success. I also remember hearing Jamil Zainasheff talking about it on one of his podcasts. The idea is that you can have ready to pitch yeast available at the spur of the moment so that you can brew without much prep work. I like that idea. FYI, I recently met a couple homebrewers that just take dry yeast & sprinkle it into the wort, and they are very happy with their results....
marcopolo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:07 PM   #3
zman
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
zman's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denver.
Posts: 2,613
Liked 16 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Yes I have done it and it works really well. I use a 500ML beaker to hold the vials and set the beaker on a SS trivet in the Pressure cooker. There is also this really hand thread http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f13/guid...st-bank-35891/
__________________
www.kroc.org
zman is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

co2

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS