Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GFCI Option
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2012, 05:00 PM   #1
captainoverspray
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Muskego, WI
Posts: 85
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default GFCI Option

Would this work if wired into the control panel? http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-High-C...sr=1-1-catcorr
I am starting to research and price out my control panel and ran across this on amazon. It would be wired in between the incoming power to the control panel and the main power relay that Kal has in his wiring diagrams. Here is a link to the spec sheet. http://communities.leviton.com/docs/DOC-2046


captainoverspray is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 05:51 PM   #2
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,294
Liked 49 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 83

Default

Yes as long as the contactor that you use is rated for the voltage/amps that the breaker is rated for. The only issue I would have with this is that if the GFCI is mounted inside of your control panel then when it trips you still actually have power inside of your control panel. I'd rather have something outside of the control panel on a separate breaker in a sub-panel or on the power cord. JMO


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:16 PM   #3
moparx12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: charlotte
Posts: 189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainoverspray View Post
Would this work if wired into the control panel? http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-High-C...sr=1-1-catcorr
I am starting to research and price out my control panel and ran across this on amazon. It would be wired in between the incoming power to the control panel and the main power relay that Kal has in his wiring diagrams. Here is a link to the spec sheet. http://communities.leviton.com/docs/DOC-2046
I hope that will work, i am using two of them in my panel!
moparx12 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:35 PM   #4
captainoverspray
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Muskego, WI
Posts: 85
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyzazz View Post
Yes as long as the contactor that you use is rated for the voltage/amps that the breaker is rated for. The only issue I would have with this is that if the GFCI is mounted inside of your control panel then when it trips you still actually have power inside of your control panel. I'd rather have something outside of the control panel on a separate breaker in a sub-panel or on the power cord. JMO
That is a good point I didn't think of. I just realized that I can get a cutler hamer 30amp gfci breaker for $10 more than this. I have a 100 amp sub panel that is cutler hamer. The 200amp main panel is square d and those breakers are more. I think I will go with the breaker and then run 4 conductor power to where the brewery will be.
captainoverspray is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 01:13 PM   #5
moparx12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: charlotte
Posts: 189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainoverspray View Post
That is a good point I didn't think of. I just realized that I can get a cutler hamer 30amp gfci breaker for $10 more than this. I have a 100 amp sub panel that is cutler hamer. The 200amp main panel is square d and those breakers are more. I think I will go with the breaker and then run 4 conductor power to where the brewery will be.
A benefit to consider with the GFCI in the panel is that you could take your brewery to a different location where a 240 outlet is available with enough current capacity.


moparx12 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I really need a GFCI if.. Yorg Electric Brewing 10 07-27-2011 11:18 PM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
GFCI and etc. aperk Electric Brewing 8 06-05-2011 11:39 PM
Gfci? rod734 Electric Brewing 9 04-26-2011 04:48 PM
GFCI keeps blowing Cybershadow Electric Brewing 51 12-22-2010 06:14 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS