Dangers to watch out for while brewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

justinm410

Reaction score
I'll probably get made fun of as this is probably over-concerned. To start, I am a beginner so I thought this may be some good knowledge as I'm drinking this stuff. :mug: Are there any dangers to watch out for while brewing that you would not want to ingest if an experiment went wrong or brew were say contaminated?

Before brewing beer I was investigating the darker sides of brewing-- distilling, freeze distilling, general ye olde moonshine techniques, etc.-- for stronger brews. I then decided drinking quality was better than quantity in alcohol.

The danger that particularly existed there was having a high methanol content mixed in your ethanol after distilling. In lesser cases it results in a bad hangover, but can even result in death (especially freeze distilling).

Anything like this to watch out for while brewing beer or ciders?

P.S. Is it harmful to drink fermenting cider where the yeast is still fully active? (taste testing purposes)

Also if everyone feels this topic has been covered, just delete this thread. Like I said, I'm a beginner and may be beating a dead horse :D

You can drink yeast or bacteria fermenting beer or cider without safety issues, but you might get gassy. Nothing toxic grows in alcoholic wort/must/wash for fermentation.
You should be more concerned about burning yourself when boiling or heating mash water, or with dropping and breaking a glass carboy.
You can find the previous threads that are similar to your question in the list below...

This entire site is filled with "Dangers" found in homebrewing. Here's a few:

Lack of proper cleaning/sanitation
Broken glass
Burns