BeerSmith question (about one of the included recipes) - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > BeerSmith question (about one of the included recipes)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2012, 04:13 PM   #1
HibsMax
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
Westford, MA
Posts: 275
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts



Just downloaded BeerSmith 2 today and have been poking around. I looked at one of the two extract recipes they provide - the Muddy Pig Oatmeal Stout - and in the instructions it has a Mash Style. This is an extract recipe, I won't be mashing anything. I can't remove it or set it to No Mash because that's not an option. It was set to My Mash but when I was looking around I accidentally must have set it to something else. I can't reset it to My Mash because that's not an option in the drop down. I guess I could just ignore it but I prefer a cleaner look i.e., all the information I do need and none of the information that I don't need.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:36 PM   #2
city
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
huron, ohio
Posts: 69
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


i have beer smith also, well just downloaded today . thats how that recipe comes from what i can see , i haven't change anything on mine

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 03:26 PM   #3
HibsMax
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
Westford, MA
Posts: 275
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I would have thought that the interface would have hidden the MASH drop down rather than just gray it out, but I think it's safe to say that for an extract brew we know we're not mashing so we can just ignore it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 05:05 AM   #4
city
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
huron, ohio
Posts: 69
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


yup

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 05:49 AM   #5
step
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Hood River, Oregon
Posts: 428
Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by HibsMax View Post
Just downloaded BeerSmith 2 today and have been poking around. I looked at one of the two extract recipes they provide - the Muddy Pig Oatmeal Stout - and in the instructions it has a Mash Style. This is an extract recipe, I won't be mashing anything. I can't remove it or set it to No Mash because that's not an option. It was set to My Mash but when I was looking around I accidentally must have set it to something else. I can't reset it to My Mash because that's not an option in the drop down. I guess I could just ignore it but I prefer a cleaner look i.e., all the information I do need and none of the information that I don't need.
I guess I don't understand the problem... this is an extract w/ steeping grains recipe, right? I am not sure what your concern about mashing is... steep the specialty grains at 155 degrees F for 20-30 mins-ish and go for it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 02:57 PM   #6
HibsMax
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
Westford, MA
Posts: 275
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by step View Post
I guess I don't understand the problem... this is an extract w/ steeping grains recipe, right? I am not sure what your concern about mashing is... steep the specialty grains at 155 degrees F for 20-30 mins-ish and go for it.
My concern is with the application showing me a MASH stage when this is an extract recipe. Why is it even in the interface? I don't have a problem per se, I know that I don't need to mash anything, I just don't know why that option is even there. I guess I like a cleaner interface where the only controls visible are those that you can actually use.

Cheers, Max

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 03:05 PM   #7
RandomBeerGuy
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 750
Liked 80 Times on 52 Posts


I would dont try to over think it. If it's telling your mash schedule it just when you add the grains or extract. I have been using beersmith for awhile now. I have no issues understanding the process between extract and all grain batches on BS.
__________________
Click'Clack Drink'Drunk - 99.9 KISW The Mens Room
----------------------------------------------------

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 03:38 PM   #8
HibsMax
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
Westford, MA
Posts: 275
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I should say that I work in software quality assurance so it's my nature to be picky about how software works. To be clear, I was never under the impression that I needed to mash. I wasn't confused about the actual process. I was just curious as to why the application includes information in a recipes that is clearly not required. I'm just nit-picking (while also making sure that I am using the software correctly).

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:18 PM   #9
RandomBeerGuy
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 750
Liked 80 Times on 52 Posts


Isn't when you add barley to water mash? Think of extract as the hard work done for you because extract is or was malted barley and they had to mash the grains to get the extract. So in some degree beersmith is right I guess. lol please dont take this to heart.
__________________
Click'Clack Drink'Drunk - 99.9 KISW The Mens Room
----------------------------------------------------

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 07:26 PM   #10
HibsMax
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
Westford, MA
Posts: 275
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by RandomBeerGuy View Post
Isn't when you add barley to water mash? Think of extract as the hard work done for you because extract is or was malted barley and they had to mash the grains to get the extract. So in some degree beersmith is right I guess. lol please dont take this to heart.
I'm not talking to you any more!

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BeerSmith (1) Not Saving My Recipes! craig_reed Brewing Software 2 08-12-2011 10:22 PM
Can't add new recipes to Beersmith... unclekeg Brewing Software 1 04-30-2011 01:59 PM
BeerSmith - how do you get the text of your recipes? Mayday99 Brewing Software 3 03-29-2011 01:56 AM
My beersmith recipes are gone! Coastarine Brewing Software 13 01-19-2011 11:00 AM
Saving Beersmith recipes Blackhawkbrew Brewing Software 7 11-24-2009 01:31 AM


Forum Jump