Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > 10 Gallon Extract

Old 04-13-2012, 07:29 AM   #1
legend
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 10 Gallon Extract

Hi i bought two NB deadringer IPA extract kits and i wanted to do a 10 gallon batch in my keggle. Do i just follow the recipe and double the ingredients? Also how much water do i need to use to yield 10 gallons. This is a full boil in a keggle

Old 04-13-2012, 12:29 PM   #2
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 505 Times on 467 Posts
Likes Given: 226

If you bought two identical kits you can just combine them, essentially doubling the batch to 10 gallons.

As for how much water, if you know what volume you need to get the 5G, I'll assume your boil off will be the same as a 5G, you won't evaporate twice as much water just because you are boiling more wort

Old 04-16-2012, 08:57 AM   #3
legend
Recipes 

I read somewhere that you don't use the same amount of hops to to utilization? Also this is my first time using a 15 gallon keggle, so i wanted to start with the right amount of water to get 10 gallons after the boil. The kits directions are for a 5 gallon partial boil where you start with 3 gallons then add 2 gallons of pure water to the carboy to get the 5 gallons, but i want to do a full boil to yield 10 gallons.

Old 04-16-2012, 02:17 PM   #4
Camride
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I believe there are some calculators out there to figure out how much boil off you'll have, not sure if you need Beer Smith or if there are online calculators (I'm still doing partials). If you're doing a 60 minute boil I'm guessing you'll boil off around 1.5-2 gallons though.
Up Next - Trappist, Imperial Irish Red

All extract for now but making plans for the AG switch.

Old 04-16-2012, 02:28 PM   #5
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 505 Times on 467 Posts
Likes Given: 226

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camride View Post