What PID to use - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > What PID to use

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2012, 12:19 PM   #1
crazyirishman34
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
crazyirishman34's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Newton, MA
Posts: 1,811
Liked 87 Times on 76 Posts



I am trying to set up a gas (I know this is the electric forum) fired brutus 10 style rig. What my question is what PID controller will with with the 24v gas valves?
__________________
www.downtheroadbrewery.com

www.pintley.com Great reviews of craft beer and win prizes at the same time

Down the Road on Facebook

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 02:03 PM   #2
wubears71
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
wubears71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Webster Groves, MO
Posts: 372
Liked 30 Times on 18 Posts


Is this a control valve or just a discrete on/off valve?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 02:56 PM   #3
crazyirishman34
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
crazyirishman34's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Newton, MA
Posts: 1,811
Liked 87 Times on 76 Posts


I am going to be using a Honeywell safety valve to control the burner.
__________________
www.downtheroadbrewery.com

www.pintley.com Great reviews of craft beer and win prizes at the same time

Down the Road on Facebook

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 03:04 PM   #4
wubears71
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
wubears71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Webster Groves, MO
Posts: 372
Liked 30 Times on 18 Posts


I don't believe these are modulating valves so you really cannot control gas flow. What you really need is a Modulating gas valve.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 03:17 PM   #5
crazyirishman34
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
crazyirishman34's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Newton, MA
Posts: 1,811
Liked 87 Times on 76 Posts


I just want on and off control or wont a pid do that?
__________________
www.downtheroadbrewery.com

www.pintley.com Great reviews of craft beer and win prizes at the same time

Down the Road on Facebook

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 03:30 PM   #6
wubears71
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
wubears71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Webster Groves, MO
Posts: 372
Liked 30 Times on 18 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyirishman34 View Post
I just want on and off control or wont a pid do that?
A PID loop controller will not do that. What you need is a 24v power source that you can turn on and off by opening/closing a contact of some sorts.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 03:49 PM   #7
bucfanmike
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
bucfanmike's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2010
Duluth
Posts: 1,023
Liked 27 Times on 24 Posts


yes a pid will do that. you will need the honeywell 24vac converter. I think others have recommended the auber 2352, im still researching which pid i want, i will be building the same setup as you. you will just run the pid in on/off mode.
__________________
Mike in Duluth

Currently on Tap
1. Hefeweizen
2. BM Centennial Blonde
3. LHMS Clone

Pipeline
Next on Tap-Denny Conn Rye IPA
Kegged and aging Ed Worts Apfelwine, Denny Conn BVIP
Fermenters -

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 04:04 PM   #8
wubears71
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
wubears71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Webster Groves, MO
Posts: 372
Liked 30 Times on 18 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by bucfanmike View Post
yes a pid will do that. you will need the honeywell 24vac converter. I think others have recommended the auber 2352, im still researching which pid i want, i will be building the same setup as you. you will just run the pid in on/off mode.
So what are you guys doing then? Just using the loop controller to monitor temperature?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 04:06 PM   #9
wubears71
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
wubears71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Webster Groves, MO
Posts: 372
Liked 30 Times on 18 Posts


Nevermind. I now realized what you are doing. Sorry. I was thinking you were wanting to modulate gas flow using a control valve.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 04:14 PM   #10
crazyirishman34
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
crazyirishman34's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Newton, MA
Posts: 1,811
Liked 87 Times on 76 Posts


So really any pid will work even the SSR units if you add a relay to the control output? I would just need to set it to on/off control? What about if I just wanted to monitor the temp? I can't find a 1/16 din unit that will do that with out control.
__________________
www.downtheroadbrewery.com

www.pintley.com Great reviews of craft beer and win prizes at the same time

Down the Road on Facebook

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump