Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Mistakes I made while attempting Kals Electric build
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2012, 11:47 AM   #1
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 885
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default Mistakes I made while attempting Kals Electric build

We all know this one:

"Measure twice, cut once"

I learned that it should read:

"Measure twice, cut once with the right tool"

I was so excited to get my 45mm bimetal hole saw in the mail. I finally checked amazon and a week after ordering, it still had not shipped. I canceled the order and paid $7 more to buy it at HD. The next morning, my wife and I were cleaning the house for company but I wanted to cut the last two holes so I could paint the enclosure.

In my rush, I grabbed the wrong bit and cut 51 mm holes instead of 45mm......had to spend an extra hour creating a steel plate from another enclosure I had originally purchased but decided not to use, and then JB welding it in place and getting everything filed down....

Going to paint it this morning--Hopefully it will look fine (and at least it is on the bottom)

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120408_074007.jpg
Views:	1744
Size:	12.1 KB
ID:	56037


__________________
And now you see that Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb!
NewBrewB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 12:24 PM   #2
zeus53219
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 299
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Nice save. I just went with a jig saw and a standard 2 plug 15A twist-lock($5.50) for the pumps.


Click image for larger version

Name:	CP BOTTOM.jpg
Views:	2214
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	56038  
zeus53219 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:30 AM   #3
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 885
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

No pictures but I essentially drilled the holes for one of my heat sinks just barely too far apart. After that, the bolts wouldn't thread properly without angling and stripping, in addition to leaving a gap that the silicone didn't fill..... ended up having to re-drill/enlarge the holes, curse at it quite a bit, scrape and re-apply the silicone, and use washers so the bolt heads didn't go through the enlarged holes.

Measure twice, cut (or in this case, drill) once.
__________________
And now you see that Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb!
NewBrewB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:33 AM   #4
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 885
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

Oh... also somehow bought the wrong 22mm lights.... I got the ones that are also switches and are not properly sealed/water resistant.

I've been stalling on ordering my Volt/Amp meters... finally decided to do it today and realized they could take up to a month for shipping---pretty disappointing. If you are attempting this build, get your stuff ordered from Chinese manufactures as soon as possible... Auber Instruments is wicked-fast so no hurry on their components.
__________________
And now you see that Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb!
NewBrewB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:36 AM   #5
emjay
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
emjay's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12,712
Liked 1716 Times on 1604 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You're lucky you didn't make that mistake on some Blichmanns! That would really suck.
emjay is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:22 PM   #6
JRems
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mahopac, NY
Posts: 2,230
Liked 60 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewBrewB View Post
Oh... also somehow bought the wrong 22mm lights.... I got the ones that are also switches and are not properly sealed/water resistant.
let me know if you want to sell the wrong ones. I think I could use them send me a pm with some pics of them if possible. Good luck with the rest of the build. I completed a much simpler 1 pid control panel for a herms setup. Also if you want I could find the name of the Chinese eBay seller I used to buy lights and switches, I had tracking from china and only took 10 days to NY.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
Simcoe smells like 10 cats pissing on a pine tree. It's awesome.
JRems is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:45 PM   #7
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 885
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

I bought two definite purpose contactors--didn't really realize Kal's design uses power relays (page 245 mentions both but doesn't demonstrate installation/use of the Contactors) Anyway, I bought a 120v and a 240v... Now that I'm getting further in my Kal build, I'm wondering what I should have bought instead...

Does it matter if I use the 240? Should I sell both and buy Power Relays?

*sigh*
__________________
And now you see that Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb!
NewBrewB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 11:09 AM   #8
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 885
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

Anyone?
__________________
And now you see that Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb!
NewBrewB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 11:34 AM   #9
cscade
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
cscade's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 456
Liked 16 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

In Kal's design the 120V loads (pumps) are switched directly, and the 240V loads (elements) are switched by relays and then controlled by SSRs. So all three relays in the box (incoming power, element, element) need to be the same - 240V.

Edit: The labels in that picture show the coil voltage as being what's different, it says nothing about the load voltage, just the load amperage. If those are rated high enough, you'd have to switch one of them at 240V and one of them at 120V. Sounds like a bad idea to me. Go for 240V 40A+ load rated relays, with 120V coils.
__________________

Seeker Brewing Co.
est. 2008
Build Thread - Blog
cscade is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 12:06 PM   #10
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Both of those contactors are double pole & are rated for switching 240V 40A. One has a 120V coil and the other a 240V coil.

They will work just fine for your setup. Just energize their pick coils appropriately.


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS