Mistakes I made while attempting Kals Electric build - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Mistakes I made while attempting Kals Electric build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2012, 11:47 AM   #1
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Pace, FL
Posts: 818
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts



We all know this one:

"Measure twice, cut once"

I learned that it should read:

"Measure twice, cut once with the right tool"

I was so excited to get my 45mm bimetal hole saw in the mail. I finally checked amazon and a week after ordering, it still had not shipped. I canceled the order and paid $7 more to buy it at HD. The next morning, my wife and I were cleaning the house for company but I wanted to cut the last two holes so I could paint the enclosure.

In my rush, I grabbed the wrong bit and cut 51 mm holes instead of 45mm......had to spend an extra hour creating a steel plate from another enclosure I had originally purchased but decided not to use, and then JB welding it in place and getting everything filed down....

Going to paint it this morning--Hopefully it will look fine (and at least it is on the bottom)

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120408_074007.jpg
Views:	1754
Size:	12.1 KB
ID:	56037


__________________
And now you see that Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 12:24 PM   #2
zeus53219
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Milwaukee
Posts: 298
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


Nice save. I just went with a jig saw and a standard 2 plug 15A twist-lock($5.50) for the pumps.


Click image for larger version

Name:	CP BOTTOM.jpg
Views:	2229
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	56038  

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:30 AM   #3
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Pace, FL
Posts: 818
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts


No pictures but I essentially drilled the holes for one of my heat sinks just barely too far apart. After that, the bolts wouldn't thread properly without angling and stripping, in addition to leaving a gap that the silicone didn't fill..... ended up having to re-drill/enlarge the holes, curse at it quite a bit, scrape and re-apply the silicone, and use washers so the bolt heads didn't go through the enlarged holes.

Measure twice, cut (or in this case, drill) once.
__________________
And now you see that Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:33 AM   #4
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Pace, FL
Posts: 818
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts


Oh... also somehow bought the wrong 22mm lights.... I got the ones that are also switches and are not properly sealed/water resistant.

I've been stalling on ordering my Volt/Amp meters... finally decided to do it today and realized they could take up to a month for shipping---pretty disappointing. If you are attempting this build, get your stuff ordered from Chinese manufactures as soon as possible... Auber Instruments is wicked-fast so no hurry on their components.
__________________
And now you see that Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:36 AM   #5
emjay
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12,794
Liked 1719 Times on 1606 Posts


You're lucky you didn't make that mistake on some Blichmanns! That would really suck.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:22 PM   #6
JRems
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
Mahopac, NY
Posts: 2,221
Liked 60 Times on 52 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by NewBrewB View Post
Oh... also somehow bought the wrong 22mm lights.... I got the ones that are also switches and are not properly sealed/water resistant.
let me know if you want to sell the wrong ones. I think I could use them send me a pm with some pics of them if possible. Good luck with the rest of the build. I completed a much simpler 1 pid control panel for a herms setup. Also if you want I could find the name of the Chinese eBay seller I used to buy lights and switches, I had tracking from china and only took 10 days to NY.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
Simcoe smells like 10 cats pissing on a pine tree. It's awesome.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:45 PM   #7
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Pace, FL
Posts: 818
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts


I bought two definite purpose contactors--didn't really realize Kal's design uses power relays (page 245 mentions both but doesn't demonstrate installation/use of the Contactors) Anyway, I bought a 120v and a 240v... Now that I'm getting further in my Kal build, I'm wondering what I should have bought instead...

Does it matter if I use the 240? Should I sell both and buy Power Relays?

*sigh*
__________________
And now you see that Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 11:09 AM   #8
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Pace, FL
Posts: 818
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts


Anyone?
__________________
And now you see that Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 11:34 AM   #9
cscade
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
cscade's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 450
Liked 18 Times on 14 Posts


In Kal's design the 120V loads (pumps) are switched directly, and the 240V loads (elements) are switched by relays and then controlled by SSRs. So all three relays in the box (incoming power, element, element) need to be the same - 240V.

Edit: The labels in that picture show the coil voltage as being what's different, it says nothing about the load voltage, just the load amperage. If those are rated high enough, you'd have to switch one of them at 240V and one of them at 120V. Sounds like a bad idea to me. Go for 240V 40A+ load rated relays, with 120V coils.
__________________

Seeker Brewing Co.
est. 2008
Build Thread - Blog

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 12:06 PM   #10
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


Both of those contactors are double pole & are rated for switching 240V 40A. One has a 120V coil and the other a 240V coil.

They will work just fine for your setup. Just energize their pick coils appropriately.



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump