Old 04-04-2012, 02:47 PM   #1
jmd1971
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Undercarbonated Kegs

Hi,

I am fairly new to kegging (only drinking my second kegged batch) & both seemed undercarbonated, even though I set everything based on the charts available for style/temp/psi.

Right now, I have a APA tapped at about 12psi & around 38 degrees, but after about 10 days now it seems undercarbonated, like my last batch a Cali Common. There is plenty of head (about 2 inches worth), but the CO2 in suspension seems weak. When I first pour, I am only seeing a minimal amount of bubbles surfacing. I would have expected more in suspension carbonation at this point.

I'm not really sure where to go from here as I thought I was following the guidelines I've read about. Does anyone have any ideas to help this? I have a pilsner conditioning & I definitely don't want this issue with that one. You can get away with an undercarbonated APA, but not so for a pilsner....

Thanks for any advice you all may have!

Old 04-04-2012, 02:55 PM   #2
Alphonso
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Just crank up the pressure if it's too low for your tastes. Thats the beauty of a keg.

However, if you are just setting it and letting it carb slowly, it may take more like 2-3 weeks. It just may not be fully carbed yet. 10 days simply may not be enough time.

I crank mine up to about 30psi, let it sit for about 3 days, then set it to my serving pressure and give it another week or so to even out. Thats 10 days right there.

Some people crank it up to about 30 and shake the keg around for a few minutes, then drop the pressure and let it even out.

Long story short, at 10 days, it's probably not finished carbing yet. And if it's not carbed enough for you, you can always add more.

Old 04-04-2012, 03:34 PM   #3
jmd1971
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts