Can I use EMT as a ground? - Page 3 - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Can I use EMT as a ground?
Cool Brewing Corny 5G & Mini Giveaway

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2012, 11:59 AM   #21
sils13
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 144
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 3


To pull all your wires in at once in the field we call it a head but u pretty much loop one wire around the head on the fish tape fold it I've nice and tight and stagger each individual going away from the head making it as slim and tight as possible if u don't have a fish tape make the loop do the head is round and push it! U don't want any bulges just nice and tight



 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:22 PM   #22
wubears71
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
wubears71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Webster Groves, MO
Posts: 369
Liked 29 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 27


For Its worth in regards to using EMT for conduit, I had a situation at home where a fitting worked its way loose (I'm guessing vibrations from the washing machine) on some that was installed before we moved in. If there wasn't a ground pulled and something used at that receptacle short circuited the ground would not have been made. This is why I never rely on conduit of any kind to provide the sole path to ground.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:28 PM   #23
Dgonza9
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,183
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


That's a good point. So it's allowable, but not recommended. I'll pull a ground wire.

Thanks for all the advice.
__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 04:02 PM   #24
mux
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,867
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23


Check my work! Don't take my advice!


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2702354915.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	55425

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 04:15 PM   #25
BeerguyNC61
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 526
Liked 69 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 13


If thats your work your license should be pulled!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 04:17 PM   #26
DaleHair
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 160
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 8


Quote:
Originally Posted by wubears71 View Post
For Its worth in regards to using EMT for conduit, I had a situation at home where a fitting worked its way loose (I'm guessing vibrations from the washing machine) on some that was installed before we moved in.
That's why I say if it is installed properly, If there is any vibration, flexible conduit is needed. A loose fitting it is bad, potentially dangerous, even if a ground wire is installed.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 05:09 PM   #27
mux
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,867
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23


Quote:
Originally Posted by BeerguyNC61
If thats your work your license should be pulled!!
That's what we get to fix.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-707273901.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	55433

They are still using this!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:33 PM   #28
BeerguyNC61
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 526
Liked 69 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 13


At least it's not bare wire wrapped around porcelain insulator or a screw in glass fuse......
Ahhhhh the good ole daze!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:17 PM   #29
mux
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,867
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23


Quote:
Originally Posted by BeerguyNC61
At least it's not bare wire wrapped around porcelain insulator or a screw in glass fuse......
Ahhhhh the good ole daze!
I run into knob and tube from time to time.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 11:02 PM   #30
wubears71
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
wubears71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Webster Groves, MO
Posts: 369
Liked 29 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 27


Quote:
Originally Posted by mux View Post
I run into knob and tube from time to time.
I find it in my house on occasion. Our house is 97 years old nd the wire was upgraded to Romex sometime in the mid 80s. However corners were cut and some Knob and Tube was left inside the walls.



 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240V 3-wire drier ground/neutral confusion El_Cabrito Electric Brewing 41 01-01-2012 04:47 AM
Heat Stick Ground Question rivertranced Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2011 06:09 AM
Gauge of ground wire GRHunter Electric Brewing 12 05-25-2011 10:26 PM
How to ground heating element beeguy Electric Brewing 15 02-01-2011 06:15 AM
Heat stick failure... ground question. Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 4 01-07-2011 01:03 AM


Forum Jump