Can I use EMT as a ground? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Can I use EMT as a ground?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2012, 02:06 AM   #1
Dgonza9
 
Dgonza9's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,182
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts



I read that it was allowable to have up to 16 #12 wires in 3/4" EMT.

Yeah, good luck getting that done. I have 8 and it wasn't easy to pull those. I was going to run a separate ground wire. But now I'm wondering if I can use the metal conduit as the ground here. I don't know if I can pull another wire through.

Acceptable?
__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:15 AM   #2
DaleHair
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Dallas, TX
Posts: 161
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts


Yes, as long as it properly installed.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:16 AM   #3
sils13
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 144
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts


Personally I would always pull an equipment ground, and never rely on conduit it's only as good as the weakest link.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:22 AM   #4
mux
 
mux's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,875
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dgonza9 View Post
I read that it was allowable to have up to 16 #12 wires in 3/4" EMT.

Yeah, good luck getting that done. I have 8 and it wasn't easy to pull those. I was going to run a separate ground wire. But now I'm wondering if I can use the metal conduit as the ground here. I don't know if I can pull another wire through.

Acceptable?
Yes, But if you are Piping and pulling a new run size accordingly and pull a ground conductor.
“Sections 250.4(A) and (B)”General Requirements for Grounding
and Bonding” set forth in detail what must be accomplished by the grounding and
bonding of metal parts of the electrical system. The metal parts must form an
effective low-impedance path to ground in order to safely conduct any fault current
and facilitate the operation of overcurrent devices protecting the enclosed circuit
conductors.”

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:24 AM   #5
mux
 
mux's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,875
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by sils13 View Post
Personally I would always pull an equipment ground, and never rely on conduit it's only as good as the weakest link.
100% agree. Did an electrician properly install that run? Cheap insurance if not.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:26 AM   #6
mux
 
mux's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,875
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts


Also if it was that tough to pull you should get some lube.
http://www.homedepot.com/buy/electri...-qt-93126.html

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:26 AM   #7
Dgonza9
 
Dgonza9's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,182
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleHair
Yes, as long as it properly installed.
I'll run another ground wire.
__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:28 AM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,336
Liked 302 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dgonza9 View Post
I read that it was allowable to have up to 16 #12 wires in 3/4" EMT.
Yeah, good luck getting that done. I have 8 and it wasn't easy to pull those...
You scare the hell out of me. You are on the short circuit of frying yourself into being a crispy critter.

IMHO you do not have a clue.

Sorry... I'm done and will not bother you anymore in any of your multi threads...

Please be very careful in what you choose to do. You are playing a very serious game of "You Bet Your Life".

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:31 AM   #9
DaleHair
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Dallas, TX
Posts: 161
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts


Some receptacles are rated as self grounding but it is a good idea to use a ground wire to the box. I sometimes will use one wire as a pull wire to pull two wires in, it's easiest with wire lube.

Edit: It is also easier to have one person feed the wire in while another pulls.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:40 AM   #10
mux
 
mux's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,875
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleHair View Post
Some receptacles are rated as self grounding but it is a good idea to use a ground wire to the box. I sometimes will use one wire as a pull wire to pull two wires in, it's easiest with wire lube.
That's what I would do! You really don't need to push a fish tape through there if its was that tough of a pull. Post a picture of the pipe run. How long how many bends ect.. I'll try and help.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240V 3-wire drier ground/neutral confusion El_Cabrito Electric Brewing 41 01-01-2012 04:47 AM
Heat Stick Ground Question rivertranced Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2011 06:09 AM
Gauge of ground wire GRHunter Electric Brewing 12 05-25-2011 10:26 PM
How to ground heating element beeguy Electric Brewing 15 02-01-2011 06:15 AM
Heat stick failure... ground question. Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 4 01-07-2011 01:03 AM


Forum Jump