What's your beersmith process when you brew the same recipe again? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > What's your beersmith process when you brew the same recipe again?
Cool Brewing Giveaway - Supporting Membership Drive & Discount

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2012, 04:48 PM   #1
bctdi
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
N.W. Atlanta Metro,GA
Posts: 247
Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts



Just curious how people handle brewing the same recipe over again and using beersmith. I'm kind of torn between creating a whole new file and modifying an existing file with notes from my latest version of a particular beer.Sometimes I will modify a recipe, but the problem is not being able to go back and look at past mistakes.
So what's your process? do you modify an existing recipe and not look back, or do you create a whole new file and label it "batch 2" or "batch 3" etc.....or do you just keep adding to your notes within an existing file to see changes in the process or recipe?
Just looking for the easiest way to retain my data so I can improve my process for a given recipe



 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 04:52 PM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Revvy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
"Detroitish" Michigan
Posts: 40,890
Liked 3163 Times on 1871 Posts


On beersmith 2 there's a button that you can click called versions that you can assign a number too. Then I just save it as a separate recipe. I usually also indicate what changes I made in the note section, making sure that the original recipe info is there, in case I over write the original file or something.


__________________
Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman

I gotta tell ya, just between us girls, that Revvy is HOT. Very tall, gorgeous grey hair and a terrific smile. He's very good looking in person, with a charismatic personality... he drives like a ****ing maniac! - YooperBrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 06:28 PM   #3
bctdi
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
N.W. Atlanta Metro,GA
Posts: 247
Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
On beersmith 2 there's a button that you can click called versions that you can assign a number too. Then I just save it as a separate recipe. I usually also indicate what changes I made in the note section, making sure that the original recipe info is there, in case I over write the original file or something.
Does bs 2 pre populate the fields with the malt / hops / yeast from the original recipe? Or do you just start with a clean slate and add in everything manually?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 06:36 PM   #4
klnosaj
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
klnosaj's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Berkeley, CA
Posts: 438
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by bctdi View Post
Does bs 2 pre populate the fields with the malt / hops / yeast from the original recipe? Or do you just start with a clean slate and add in everything manually?
Everything stays exactly the same except for the version number you assign. Just make sure to save it under a different name than the original.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 12:47 AM   #5
day_trippr
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Stow, MA
Posts: 16,350
Liked 2644 Times on 1994 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by klnosaj View Post
Everything stays exactly the same except for the version number you assign. Just make sure to save it under a different name than the original.
A classic example of why BS2 is about the most user-belligerent software I've ever used - and being computer literate since the 70s (BS/EE in 74 and in systems design ever since) that covers a heck of a lot of ground.

"Versions" should be meta data that is part of the original. It shouldn't require renaming...

Cheers!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:57 PM   #6
bctdi
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
N.W. Atlanta Metro,GA
Posts: 247
Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by klnosaj View Post
Everything stays exactly the same except for the version number you assign. Just make sure to save it under a different name than the original.
That may be reason enough to upgrade to BS 2. I don't know if there is a way to do that with bs 1 or not.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 03:02 PM   #7
BrewKnurd
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Prairieville, LA
Posts: 2,758
Liked 245 Times on 203 Posts


So what's the advantage of using versions instead of just naming the second version "Pale Ale 2", since it sounds like you need to rename anyway?
__________________
Fake it til you make it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:56 PM   #8
CollinsBrew
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
CollinsBrew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2007
Jacksonville, FL, Florida
Posts: 435
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


You don't have to rebuild the recipe. You just save it as Pale Ale Ver2 and fill in the gravity fields. Unless you have your system dialed in to perfection, there will be slight differences in the way you brew the second batch. For instance, your 30 minute hop addition got added at 20 because you had one too many homebrews and couldn't find your timer...or your hops...or the brew kettle. You just update it in BeerSmith on that Ver2 recipe and see what you get.
__________________
Flying, golfing, boating and brewing. The first is my job. The other three I wish were my job.

I like beer. On occasion, I will even drink beer to celebrate a major event such as the fall of Communism or the fact that the refrigerator is still working.

Single Tier Wooden Brutus build

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:10 AM   #9
BrewKnurd
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Prairieville, LA
Posts: 2,758
Liked 245 Times on 203 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinsBrew View Post
You don't have to rebuild the recipe. You just save it as Pale Ale Ver2 and fill in the gravity fields. Unless you have your system dialed in to perfection, there will be slight differences in the way you brew the second batch. For instance, your 30 minute hop addition got added at 20 because you had one too many homebrews and couldn't find your timer...or your hops...or the brew kettle. You just update it in BeerSmith on that Ver2 recipe and see what you get.
Right, but if i just copy and paste the original recipe and call it Pale Ale 2, the exact same thing happens, from what it sounds. And I don't have go into the recipe to do it.
__________________
Fake it til you make it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:33 AM   #10
pickles
 
pickles's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Columbus
Posts: 2,004
Liked 49 Times on 41 Posts


I use the Brew Log feature. Just select a recipe from your list and click "Copy to Log" on the Home tab. It will make an exact copy and save it to your Brew Log folder, then make whatever changes you want, change date, select version and brew. If you've changed the version it will automatically save it as Beer Name Xyz (1.1) or whatever version you choose.


__________________
Gaptooth Brewhouse

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beersmith scaling down of recipe? price2bc Brewing Software 2 12-16-2011 04:01 PM
Beersmith recipe file location on XP devils4ever Brewing Software 2 06-11-2011 12:20 PM
Beersmith Recipe Storage BigB Brewing Software 3 02-09-2010 12:19 PM
Beersmith - Are there way to differentiate a recipe and a brew session? ghart999 Brewing Software 6 11-12-2008 08:37 PM
Recipe cost in Beersmith slim chillingsworth Brewing Software 1 08-05-2008 11:51 PM


Forum Jump