Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > (Imperial?) Kolsch Recipe

Old 03-17-2012, 07:47 PM   #1
Sloobie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default (Imperial?) Kolsch Recipe

I'm planning to put in a big order with Northern Brewer either today or tomorrow, so I was hoping for a bit of feedback on a recipe I've been concocting.

I'm just getting into partial mashing after doing extract for a while. This will be among my first (though I plan to do a Northern Brewer partial mash kit as my crash course), and, of course, I will more-or-less be following Deathbrewer's tutorial.

Anyway, I want to create a Kolsch-style recipe with a lot of really spicy German noble hops. Here's what I've come up with:

OG: 1.063
FG: 1.016
ABV: 6.3%
Color: 7L
IBUs: 49.2

6 lbs German Kolsch Malt
1 lb American Wheat
3 lbs Munton's Plain Light DME

Going to attempt to mash my 7 lbs of grains in a 3 gallon stainless steel kettle as Green Bay Rackers tells me it will take up 2.75 gallons total at a mash thickness of 1.25 qt/lb. I figure minimizing headspace will help towards my overall efficiency. Then I will sparge in my 5 gallon brew kettle with another 2 gallons of water, boil, and top up to 5 gallons.

All hops are pellets. (I may cut an ounce from flavoring/aroma to lower the IBUs to mid 30s.)

60 mins 1.0oz Hallertau
60 mins 1.0oz Saaz
15 mins 0.5oz Hallertau
15 mins 0.5oz Saaz
15 mins 0.5oz Tettnanger
5 mins 0.5oz Hallertau
5 mins 0.5oz Saaz
5 mins 0.5oz Tettnanger

White Labs German Ale/Kolsch Yeast WLP029. Probably 3-4 weeks in primary before bottle conditioning -- maybe 1-2 weeks in secondary if I feel like it (a Kolsch could probably use the time clearing?)

Any thoughts/critiques/telling me I'm an idiot are more than welcome. Again, this is going to be among my first partial mashes, so the more help and tips the better.