Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Installing a dryer outlet in spa panel
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2012, 06:05 PM   #1
bagpiperjosh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plum, Pennsylvania
Posts: 338
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Installing a dryer outlet in spa panel

I have seen people mount the dryer outlet in the front of the spa panel. Is there any reason not to mount it at the top of the panel where the hole is and that little metal plate covers it? seems like it would be nice not to have to keep the panel door open while brewing.


bagpiperjosh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:26 PM   #2
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,591
Liked 1229 Times on 808 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

It's just the matter of the cord having to drape over the top corner that may be undesirable. Not necessarily bad, just something to consider.


__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:36 PM   #3
tator2k
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 96
Likes Given: 4

Default

I would say most people would frown on the possibility of moisture running into it. I just tapped it an ran my conduit into the cover.
tator2k is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:58 PM   #4
bagpiperjosh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plum, Pennsylvania
Posts: 338
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tator2k View Post
I would say most people would frown on the possibility of moisture running into it. I just tapped it an ran my conduit into the cover.
thats why i was considering running it in that top hole. so the lid could be closed while in operation.
bagpiperjosh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:07 PM   #5
iijakii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,974
Liked 178 Times on 133 Posts
Likes Given: 267

Default

The receptacle I have does not fit the square hole at the top perfectly. There's a gap on one side if I recall. Quite big. I figure I'll just buy a cheap Harbot Freight holesaw for it. I'm dropping a lot of money into the system, might as well do it right and not have one thing an eyesore.
iijakii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:41 PM   #6
bagpiperjosh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plum, Pennsylvania
Posts: 338
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iijakii View Post
The receptacle I have does not fit the square hole at the top perfectly. There's a gap on one side if I recall. Quite big. I figure I'll just buy a cheap Harbot Freight holesaw for it. I'm dropping a lot of money into the system, might as well do it right and not have one thing an eyesore.
This is what my panel looks like
i was just going to cut a hole in that cover and mount it in there.

bagpiperjosh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:43 PM   #7
iijakii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,974
Liked 178 Times on 133 Posts
Likes Given: 267

Default

Oh, sorry I misunderstood you. Thought you meant you'd just put the receptacle in the circle-hole there and not mess with the plate - to try and avoid cutting it.
iijakii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:47 PM   #8
bagpiperjosh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Plum, Pennsylvania
Posts: 338
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iijakii View Post
Oh, sorry I misunderstood you. Thought you meant you'd just put the receptacle in the circle-hole there and not mess with the plate - to try and avoid cutting it.
I dont know what that hole is supposed to be used for. Its pretty big to be using for wire. I thought that might be a good use for it, i dunno
bagpiperjosh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:49 PM   #9
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,591
Liked 1229 Times on 808 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

The hole is used for a service entrance type compression flange I suppose in case this was used as a garage subpanel or ???? who knows.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 08:01 PM   #10
aubiecat
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alexander City, Alabama
Posts: 1,197
Liked 129 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 41

Default

A good holesaw will solve all your problems.


aubiecat is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10-30R Dryer Oulet/Spa Panel Question chuckjaxfl Electric Brewing 16 03-11-2012 09:09 PM
Getting 240VAC outlet in kitchen .. oven outlet? jdonagher Electric Brewing 12 01-30-2012 01:57 AM
Help with Electric Planning (Spa Panel, Dryer Outlet, Extension Cord) br1dge Electric Brewing 13 01-23-2012 04:00 PM
Mounting spa panel guts in control panel kevink Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 02:31 AM
Question about my dryer outlet and a 3500watt element (w pictures) rtt121 Electric Brewing 24 11-10-2010 06:41 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS