Using 2 pumps at the same time - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Using 2 pumps at the same time

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2012, 12:38 AM   #1
willeck2
Recipes 
 
May 2011
plattsburgh, New York
Posts: 12


I've got a fairly basic question. I'm upgrading my brew system, and I now have 2 March 815 pumps. I am wondering about running both pumps at the same time. Will they need to be plugged into separate circuits? Or can they run at the same time on the same circuit? I brew out of my garage, and there are only 2 outlets in there, both on the same circuit.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:47 AM   #2
LandoLincoln
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
LandoLincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Joliet, IL
Posts: 2,989
Liked 1115 Times on 588 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by willeck2 View Post
I've got a fairly basic question. I'm upgrading my brew system, and I now have 2 March 815 pumps. I am wondering about running both pumps at the same time. Will they need to be plugged into separate circuits? Or can they run at the same time on the same circuit? I brew out of my garage, and there are only 2 outlets in there, both on the same circuit.
I'm wondering about two pumps running at the same time as well. As in, "why would you ever need two pumps running at the same time?"

The only thing I can think of is if you're draining the MLT into a BK with pump #1 while pump #2 is draining the HLT into the MLT while you're fly sparging.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:51 AM   #3
ScottSingleton
 
ScottSingleton's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Manassas, VA
Posts: 434
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts


^^^ Yup... I use two pumps for that as well. on a single-tier system you really need two.

Also you could be using one to recirculate your Mash through a RIMS while using one to recirculate your sparge water through another RIMS in the HLT.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:26 AM   #4
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 2,067
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


You should be able to run 2 on a 15 amp circuit with no problem.
(Unless you have a lot of other stuff on the same circuit)

Ed

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:26 AM   #5
willeck2
Recipes 
 
May 2011
plattsburgh, New York
Posts: 12

Fly sparring is exactly why I'm asking. That is the only time I think I would be running both pumps, also maybe when I'm running cleaner through the system after a brew. So can anyone tell me if I'll need to run an extension cord into my house to pick up on another circuit?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:30 AM   #6
ScottSingleton
 
ScottSingleton's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Manassas, VA
Posts: 434
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts


according to the manual March 815 pumps (110V variety) draw 1.4 Amps. Sounds totally doable.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:31 AM   #7
willeck2
Recipes 
 
May 2011
plattsburgh, New York
Posts: 12

Thanks Ed, I didn't think that two pumps would overload a circuit, but I'm no electrical genius. I thought that I'd previously read something about 2 pumps being too much for one circuit, but I looked all day and couldn't find it, so I figured I'd ask others who have already done it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:31 AM   #8
ScottSingleton
 
ScottSingleton's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Manassas, VA
Posts: 434
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts


FYI, here's where I got that info: http://www.marchparts.com/pdf/815-br-m.pdf

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:35 AM   #9
willeck2
Recipes 
 
May 2011
plattsburgh, New York
Posts: 12

Thanks Scott, I was hoping to be able to be able to wire both pumps to 1 outlet attached to my brew stand, and then just have a plug running from the outlet to plug into one of my wall plugs.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 02:28 AM   #10
luhrks
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Posts: 340
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts


+1

I run two pumps off of one circuit ALL the time.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Superbrewday 039.jpg
Views:	351
Size:	69.8 KB
ID:	52408  

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump