Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > kruesan not falling after 2 weeks

Old 03-13-2012, 05:08 AM   #1
iceroadbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default kruesan not falling after 2 weeks

Hi all

I am new to home brewing and just like evreything else I decided to dive in all out and did an all grain batch first. I managed to throw together a system piece by piece over the course of 4 months and digest what knowledge I could through these forums, podcasts and a little reading.

The just of it: its been 2 weeks and kreusan has not fell
OG 1.042
danstar nottingham yeast rehydrated (i had problems getting the wort down to 70f through the one pass on the plate chiller) so the rehydrated yeast sat for 40mins. I am aware this isnt good so i took advice from John Palmers book and boiled a little bit of sugar water, added it to the yeast and checked it a while later and it was actively foaming in the measuring cup.

I shook it for aeration for a couple minutes and pitched the yeast at 70f. I then put it in the freezer and it has been ferenting at 64-60f (i know this is low) I have been out of town for the last two weeks because of work and my girlfriend checked on the beer the second day and saw it activley fermenting.

It has been 2 weeks I am still out of town so I got her to throw an ounce of dry hops in and send me a pic. I realize there is a layer of foam on top I am not there to check the gravity and wont be there for one more week, this will be a total of three weeks. Here is a pic

Thanks in advance for any help and I apologize as this has probably been covered before!

Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-03-12 21.46.40.jpg
Views:	326
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	52299  

Old 03-13-2012, 05:13 AM   #2
AZ_IPA
PKU
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 7075 Times on 5965 Posts
Likes Given: 1191