HERMS with 2 elements at same time or not? - Page 4 - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > HERMS with 2 elements at same time or not?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2012, 10:50 PM   #31
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,601
Liked 1050 Times on 714 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by summerofgeorge View Post
The 50 amp breaker in the basement is removable but if I want to use a breaker in subpanel, I'd have to run the wires back up to the garage from there.

I had an electrician out today and he said the best option (other than getting a 50A breaker for my main panel) would be to install a 100A load center next to the main panel and then run both the subpanel and spa panels off this.

He quoted me $700 to install the 100A panel, rewire the 100A sub to it, and install a 50A spa panel with an outlet. This includes all parts and labor (except we would be using the 50A breaker from my subpanel for the spa panel). I have no idea how much electricians run...does this seem reasonable?
That sounds a little high for my area. Off the top of my head I would probably quote about $500 but labor rates are different depending where you live and they are probably cheapest here

If there is a permit included, I would say it is reasonable as that is probably over $100 on top of labor and material.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 08:11 PM   #32
summerofgeorge
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 348
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


Well, I have awesome news...I asked my neighbor if he knew where to find the breakers. He pulled out a bag of them and asked what size! He replaced his panel a few years ago but kept all the breakers in case anyone needed them. I just have to hook him up with homebrew now...done and done!!! I don't know why I didn't think to ask neighbors before. It was the same builder for the neighborhood so we probably all had the same boxes to start.

Now I can really start planning the electrical side of my build.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:47 AM   #33
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,601
Liked 1050 Times on 714 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by summerofgeorge
Well, I have awesome news...I asked my neighbor if he knew where to find the breakers. He pulled out a bag of them and asked what size! He replaced his panel a few years ago but kept all the breakers in case anyone needed them. I just have to hook him up with homebrew now...done and done!!! I don't know why I didn't think to ask neighbors before. It was the same builder for the neighborhood so we probably all had the same boxes to start.

Now I can really start planning the electrical side of my build.
Nice score! That will save you some $$.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:48 PM   #34
awarner322
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 283
Liked 33 Times on 6 Posts


Browsing around...have a real novice question here.

I understand that if you plan to run 2 heating elements at the same time, you would need a 50a breaker.

My noob question is....does that also require you to run the entire system with 220V?

(Don't worry....I don't plan on tackling this project...so I don't need to be told I can kill myself with this stuff)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:00 PM   #35
LandoLincoln
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
LandoLincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Joliet, IL
Posts: 2,989
Liked 1115 Times on 588 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by awarner322 View Post
Browsing around...have a real novice question here.

I understand that if you plan to run 2 heating elements at the same time, you would need a 50a breaker.

My noob question is....does that also require you to run the entire system with 220V?

(Don't worry....I don't plan on tackling this project...so I don't need to be told I can kill myself with this stuff)
Yes and no.

I'm running a system with 50a 240v so I can run both 5500w elements at the same time. I have three mini circuit breakers inside my control panel: (2) 50a 240v circuit breakers, one to run each element and then I have (1) 15a 120v circuit breaker to run everything else (pumps, PIDs, etc.)
__________________
www.jolietbrewersguild.org

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:35 PM   #36
awarner322
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 283
Liked 33 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by LandoLincoln View Post
Yes and no.

I'm running a system with 50a 240v so I can run both 5500w elements at the same time. I have three mini circuit breakers inside my control panel: (2) 50a 240v circuit breakers, one to run each element and then I have (1) 15a 120v circuit breaker to run everything else (pumps, PIDs, etc.)
Thank you...that clears it up somewhat. Do you have any pictures of your build by any chance?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:01 PM   #37
AllanMar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
Canada
Posts: 190
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


My build (in progress) is a 50A GFCI to the panel, with 2x 25A (240V) and 2x 10A (120V) DIN breakers in the panel.
I did a 5500W and 4500W in each HLT and BK. I've wired it such that I can select either 5500W HLT & 4500W BK or Both in HLT or Both in BK. I went with the 4500W vs 2x5500W to give me a little more room on the 50A.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:17 PM   #38
MrNatural
The Original, beware of imposters.
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
MrNatural's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Elverta, CA
Posts: 545
Liked 99 Times on 64 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by LandoLincoln View Post
Yes and no.

I'm running a system with 50a 240v so I can run both 5500w elements at the same time. I have three mini circuit breakers inside my control panel: (2) 50a 240v circuit breakers, one to run each element and then I have (1) 15a 120v circuit breaker to run everything else (pumps, PIDs, etc.)
You're running 6 AWG to your elements?
__________________
I come awake........with the gift for womankind.
You're still asleep.......but the gift don't seem to mind.
~Ian Dury

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:30 PM   #39
LandoLincoln
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
LandoLincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Joliet, IL
Posts: 2,989
Liked 1115 Times on 588 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNatural View Post
You're running 6 AWG to your elements?
Oops. I meant (2) 30a 240v circuit breakers.
__________________
www.jolietbrewersguild.org

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:33 PM   #40
LandoLincoln
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
LandoLincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Joliet, IL
Posts: 2,989
Liked 1115 Times on 588 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by awarner322 View Post
Thank you...that clears it up somewhat. Do you have any pictures of your build by any chance?
I'm still in the process of building it, but here's the schematic I'm working off of.
__________________
www.jolietbrewersguild.org

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-HERMS Build 4500W Elements with Pics dan6310 Electric Brewing 20 04-05-2012 05:56 PM
How many elements? TravelingBrewer22 Electric Brewing 6 12-13-2011 10:00 PM
I've been using HWD Elements for a while now. p-nut Electric Brewing 18 05-04-2011 07:53 PM
One PID, Two Elements? Rondacker Electric Brewing 4 05-03-2011 12:37 AM
Two Elements - 30A? aludwig Electric Brewing 15 04-06-2011 04:51 PM


Forum Jump