Dishwasher to clean bottles - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Dishwasher to clean bottles

Old 03-04-2012, 08:43 PM   #1
gmarcucio
Recipes 

Feb 2012
Hagaman, New York

I'm new to brewing and was wondering if you can put the bottles in a dishwasher to give them the initial cleaning (not to sanitize) before sanitizing before you bottle? Will the water get up into the bottles good enough in a dishwasher? Does anyone do this now?
Thanks

Old 03-04-2012, 08:55 PM   #2
xdalisx
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Feb 2011
Santa Rosa, CA
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts

What I do is clean them by hand and make sure no yeast or beer is left. This I usually do right after pouring the beer that used to be in them. When I am ready to bottle I run a short cycle through my dish washer (no detergent), then I load up my bottles and run a full cycle (again, no detergent) and switch on the heat dry. Then I bottle right out of the dishwasher. The bottles get to about 180 for extended periods which sanitizes. been doing this since I started and have had zero issues.

the water does get up into the interior (atleast in my dishwasher) so this would work for cleaning as well, unless you have a bunch of junk stuck in there, then they might need a little more work.

On Deck2 SMaSH Beers
Fermenting 100% Brett IPA
Kegged British Pale
Kegged Imperial IPA
Kegged Dry Irish Stout
Kegged Cider

Old 03-04-2012, 09:00 PM   #3
unionrdr
Heavyweight homebrewing author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Feb 2011
Sheffield, Ohio
Liked 3672 Times on 3156 Posts

I don't think the dish weasher can spray too well up inside such a small openning to clean them well inside. I soak'em in a bucket of PBW for a couple hours if they've already been delabeled.
New! John Henry- https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01GBV3UXU

Old 03-04-2012, 09:21 PM   #4
Jdk261
Recipes 

Apr 2011
Dallastown, Pennsylvania
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts