30A GFCI power cord - Page 3 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 30A GFCI power cord

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2012, 06:32 PM   #21
DustBow
 
DustBow's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Cincy, OH
Posts: 634
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts


One 4-prong male and one 4-prong female end on the cord?
__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 06:33 PM   #22
milldoggy
Recipes 
 
Mar 2008
Pottstown, Pa
Posts: 2,466
Liked 135 Times on 102 Posts


If you have a 3 prong plug, shut off the breaker and take the receptacle apart, you might find the 4th wire grounded to the box or hanging out.

When I got mine, the hot end was bare wire, you need to but a female plug end.
__________________
My E-Herms

My hop stopper

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 07:29 PM   #23
stamandster
Recipes 
 
Jun 2011
springfield, ma
Posts: 806
Liked 60 Times on 50 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by milldoggy View Post
If you have a 3 prong plug, shut off the breaker and take the receptacle apart, you might find the 4th wire grounded to the box or hanging out.

When I got mine, the hot end was bare wire, you need to but a female plug end.
Or you can wire it directly into your project box/panel.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 01:22 AM   #24
IrishBrewer74
 
IrishBrewer74's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2011
New Berlin, WI
Posts: 223
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts


I'm in the same boat with a three prong dryer outlet and would be looking at same distance to run a new circuit. I've already taken the outlet apart and there was no separate ground. I will have to look at running a new circuit (which i'd of had to do for a spa panel anyway) or perhaps wiring it to a matching three prong plug and attaching the ground to the metal outlet housing, since that is grounded to the main panel.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 03:06 AM   #25
stamandster
Recipes 
 
Jun 2011
springfield, ma
Posts: 806
Liked 60 Times on 50 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by IrishBrewer74 View Post
I'm in the same boat with a three prong dryer outlet and would be looking at same distance to run a new circuit. I've already taken the outlet apart and there was no separate ground. I will have to look at running a new circuit (which i'd of had to do for a spa panel anyway) or perhaps wiring it to a matching three prong plug and attaching the ground to the metal outlet housing, since that is grounded to the main panel.

IS there such thing as a three to four prong adapter? Something to simulate this picture?

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/spa...1/#post3228528

P-J or someone else more knowledgeable may want to chime in about that though. I am not an electrician or play one on tv.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 03:33 AM   #26
IrishBrewer74
 
IrishBrewer74's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2011
New Berlin, WI
Posts: 223
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts


Based on my interpretation of the diagram it would be easier to just buy a three prong dryer cord, cut the 4 prong plug off of the in-line GFCI cord, and splice the neutral and ground on that cord to the neutral from the 3 prong cord.

I would of course do this in a junction box, not just wire nut together and tape the crap out of it. (my job takes me in a lot of basements and I've seen some pretty crazy home wiring)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 03:44 AM   #27
Beerfly
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Dorr, MI
Posts: 99
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


With the one I received, the brown and black are the 2 hots, the blue is the common and the green is the ground. As far as I can figure from all the research I did was you don't hook up the common or use it. The common is only used for 120 volt circuits and I can tell you first hand, if it's grounded the GFI will trip. It took me a long time to grasp that a ground and a common are not the same even if they hook up to the same place in your supply panel. You have to think of the common as a return circuit, not a ground.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 04:01 AM   #28
IrishBrewer74
 
IrishBrewer74's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2011
New Berlin, WI
Posts: 223
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts


I'll take you word on it... I understand neutral and ground are not the same, it just looked like the two were tied to the same bus in the spa panel, but upon lookin harder it looks like they may be two separate ones at different heights. I'll just be happy if it's doable to run it safely from existing 3 prong dryer outlet.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 10:26 AM   #29
IrishBrewer74
 
IrishBrewer74's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2011
New Berlin, WI
Posts: 223
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Beerfly
With the one I received, the brown and black are the 2 hots, the blue is the common and the green is the ground. As far as I can figure from all the research I did was you don't hook up the common or use it. The common is only used for 120 volt circuits and I can tell you first hand, if it's grounded the GFI will trip. It took me a long time to grasp that a ground and a common are not the same even if they hook up to the same place in your supply panel. You have to think of the common as a return circuit, not a ground.
actually, won't I need the neutral then? Thee will be several items in the control panel running off of 110. Hopefully PJ can chime in.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 02:59 PM   #30
Beerfly
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Dorr, MI
Posts: 99
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


If you want the GFI to work and have 240 and 120 I am quite sure you will need 4 wires from your supply panel. If it were me, I would wire my 240v with the GFI from your 3 prong outlet. For the 120 volt circuits I would run a separate circuit from a single breaker in your main panel or a near by outlet to plug in to. It would be cheaper than running a new 240v circuit and less hassle than running a single common wire in conduit.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding a 10/3 240v 30a gfci cord..... Loptr Electric Brewing 42 01-15-2016 01:01 PM
where to find 30-40amp GFCI cord CanadianNorth Electric Brewing 11 06-12-2011 03:16 AM
Power cord help MX1 Electric Brewing 5 02-27-2011 09:58 PM
2 Pole GFCI Breaker With 4 Wire Cord? ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 8 02-08-2011 07:37 PM


Forum Jump