Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Filtering my Beer

Old 03-02-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
Zywo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Filtering my Beer

Hey everyone,

So I'm a chemist which leads me to believe that the only way to filter something is with a big ass filter paper and funnel. I think if I pass my beer through filter paper into the bottling bucket that this might be a good way to filter it, BUT, I was curious if I could filter out all the yeast as well and then not get carbonation in my bottles...is this a concern or are yeast way too small to get caught up in filter paper??

Thanks,

David

Old 03-02-2012, 08:58 PM   #2
darkhorse
Recipes 

Howdy, I am also a chemist. I would think I you use a fairly porous paper like a Whatman no. 4 you shouldn't have an issue getting most of your yeast through the paper. You probably would want to use ashless paper as well to reduce the chance of getting anything from the filter into your brew. Of course I am also speaking as a chemist and not a brewer I am sure the is a more efficient way to filter.

Old 03-02-2012, 09:03 PM   #3
unionrdr
struggling author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2967 Times on 2561 Posts
Likes Given: 2092

I use a fine mesh strainer to pour the wort & top off water into primary. That gets out hops & grainy small stuff just fine. But not the real fine floury stuff. Given time,the beer will settle out clear or slightly misty in primary. Filtering aftarward might oxygenate it.

Old 03-02-2012, 09:15 PM   #4
Zywo
Recipes 

Unionrdr,

Good point about the oxygenation, didn't think about that...perhaps a mesh screen around the end of the racking cane will work, that shouldn't oxygenate it much but would still filter...?

Old 01-22-2015, 05:33 PM   #5
g0dluvsugly
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3