wiring pumps directly to switches - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > wiring pumps directly to switches
Cool Brewing Giveaway - Supporting Membership Drive & Discount

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2012, 09:48 PM   #1
BWN
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Dexter, NY
Posts: 695
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts



I see on most control panels that the switches for the pumps are wired to an outlet then the pump plugged into the outlet. What is the reasoning for this? Why couldn't the pumps be wired right to the switches?



 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:50 PM   #2
mux
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,867
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts


I would want to keep the factory plug. But no reason to not cut off the plug and wire it into your panel if you wish.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:51 PM   #3
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Los Angeles
Posts: 8,093
Liked 475 Times on 383 Posts


Well my first pump was wired directly to the switch, because it came without a plug. My current pumps came with plugs, so they plug into an outlet which is then controlled with a switch.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:57 PM   #4
BWN
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Dexter, NY
Posts: 695
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


So if the pump came without a plug is there any reason not to do that. I am just thinking that is 2 less holes I have to cut in my box. I just think it is easier to use the 7/8" KO punch and put in a liquid tight conector than to try and cut holes for the outlets plus it would give me more room in my box.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 10:15 PM   #5
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Los Angeles
Posts: 8,093
Liked 475 Times on 383 Posts


Well I had an outlet wired into my pump toolbox (not connected to the switch) just to use it as an extra extension cord of sorts.

But apart from that I don't see any reason why you'd need one.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 10:40 PM   #6
wadefisher
Brew Meister
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
wadefisher's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Lewistown / Dade City, PA / FL
Posts: 278
Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts


One reason to use the 'plug in' method is portability. If you need to grab a pump in a pinch and move it to another use you can. If you hard wire it, it will be harder to do this.
__________________

www DrunkMonkeyBrewWerks dot com

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 10:51 PM   #7
BWN
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Dexter, NY
Posts: 695
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by wadefisher View Post
One reason to use the 'plug in' method is portability. If you need to grab a pump in a pinch and move it to another use you can. If you hard wire it, it will be harder to do this.
yeah that makes sense



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switches for 20 amp outlets... Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 10 01-06-2012 07:51 PM
where to buy switches HellBentBrewCo Electric Brewing 16 11-22-2011 03:43 PM
Switches rcm_rx7 Electric Brewing 8 03-25-2011 05:12 AM
Question on illuminated switches and SSR... Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 8 11-15-2010 02:09 AM
120v Switches CoalCracker Electric Brewing 7 10-15-2010 08:53 PM


Forum Jump