How to build a 5 gal, 110v eBIAB kettle - Page 7 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > How to build a 5 gal, 110v eBIAB kettle

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 10:03 AM   #61
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Posts: 9,702
Liked 1466 Times on 1116 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by inhousebrew View Post
I have a rather dumb question. Well maybe not, well see.

So, I'm thinking of attaching my element this way and was wondering about grounding the element. If I don't want to solder the wire (because I don't have the tools available) could I just screw in a any old screw and attach the grounding wire to that on the inside. In most conduit boxes it looks like the grounding is just a screw on the inside, can I just recreate this or am I probably going to kill myself?
The kettle and the element should both be grounded for a three wire gfci outlet w/ ground, some attach a ground screw to the kettle to do this.

There are also 2 wire gfci's that function without ground, caution should be used....I know nothing about them only that they exist...
http://www.coopersafety.com/product/...Com&sid=104086

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:08 AM   #62
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Posts: 9,702
Liked 1466 Times on 1116 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Derick_Z View Post
And I suppose if I only have access to one 20A circuit, there's nothing I can do? Some apartments I've been looking at for next year are a little older so I may call and ask about the circuitry. I'd assume they've got at least 2 20amp circuits per unit, but I'm not really sure..
I would be surprised if an apartment were not to have at least 2, 15 amp circuits, which could power 2 elements at 1500w each which is adequate for 5 gal batches.

Many apartment brewers also use a 1500w e-kettle or heatstick in conjunction w/ the stovetop to boil 5 gal. batches fwiw, several ways to skin the cat.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:15 PM   #63
Disintegr8or
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Disintegr8or's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
, FL
Posts: 276
Liked 36 Times on 17 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by WildPirate View Post
I'd still like to see the controller in detail if possible, ordering everything to make this setup today.
Hey. I'm sorry, I've been busy with work for the last 6 months.
I will do a thread on the controller build today.

Here is the link: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/ste...roller-379938/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 03:38 PM   #64
tyfernandez
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
chicago, IL
Posts: 66
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts


I noticed you use 2 separate elements but only control one with the PID. Is the PID smart enough to notice this and not drastically overshoot temps? I'm working on a simlar setup and keep debating whether to use the PID to control both elements or just one.

Also curious how you handle the boil. Do you run both elements then? In my experience one 2000w element does not provide a sufficient boil for a 5 gallon batch.

Also great thread on the build of the controller. It's nice to see not everyone needs or wants to replicate Kal's amazing yet expensive panel.

Thanks,
Ty

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:22 PM   #65
Disintegr8or
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Disintegr8or's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
, FL
Posts: 276
Liked 36 Times on 17 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by tyfernandez View Post
I noticed you use 2 separate elements but only control one with the PID. Is the PID smart enough to notice this and not drastically overshoot temps? I'm working on a simlar setup and keep debating whether to use the PID to control both elements or just one.

Also curious how you handle the boil. Do you run both elements then? In my experience one 2000w element does not provide a sufficient boil for a 5 gallon batch.

Also great thread on the build of the controller. It's nice to see not everyone needs or wants to replicate Kal's amazing yet expensive panel.

Thanks,
Ty
I run both elements to get the water up to strike temperature faster. If I am doughing in at say 158, I will unplug the non-PID element about 3 or 4 degrees before target so I don't overshoot, and let the PID element get me there.

During the boil I unplug the PID completely, and run both elements wide open straight into the wall receptacle.

I love Kal's setup, but I also like some hands on approach to brewing.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 08:44 PM   #66
WildPirate
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Parker, CO
Posts: 41
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Disintegr8or View Post
Hey. I'm sorry, I've been busy with work for the last 6 months.
I will do a thread on the controller build today.

Here is the link: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/ste...roller-379938/
Awesome thanks!

Also I just got my pvc fittings and elements, my 1" threaded coupling will not fit over the black part of the elements, did you use threaded/slip fittings? or threaded all the way through?
__________________
On Deck: Colorado Smash
In The Hole:
Primary: Empty
Secondary: Dry Hopped AIPA
Keg 1: Pumpkin Ale
Keg 2: Empty
Keg 3: Empty
Keg 4: Empty
Soda Keg: Dr. Pepper
Nitro Keg: Coffee Milk Stout
Bottled: Double Imperial IPA

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 03:05 PM   #67
Disintegr8or
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Disintegr8or's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
, FL
Posts: 276
Liked 36 Times on 17 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by WildPirate View Post
Awesome thanks!

Also I just got my pvc fittings and elements, my 1" threaded coupling will not fit over the black part of the elements, did you use threaded/slip fittings? or threaded all the way through?
It is a threaded/slip coupling. Sorry, I'll edit the OP.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 08:23 PM   #68
matc
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Posts: 258
Liked 16 Times on 11 Posts


Awesome build !

I've got two questions for people using this exact setup

1) what do you do to get rid of all the water vapor when boiling ? I do 5 gallons batches and the pre-boil amount is like 7-8 gallons which is too heavy to put on a stovetop I think.

2) I have an aluminium pot, how could I attach the ground wire to the pot ? Soldering won't work obviously.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:57 PM   #69
sbrbrad
Recipes 
 
Jun 2012
Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Has anyone done 1 gallon batches in this set up? I am very very interested in this set up, but would like to be able do different sizes...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 09:44 PM   #70
Disintegr8or
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Disintegr8or's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
, FL
Posts: 276
Liked 36 Times on 17 Posts


You couldn't do one gallon batches in this setup. it takes about 2.5 gallons just to cover the elements.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet Another eBIAB Build voltin Electric Brewing 159 08-24-2016 04:58 AM
pvtschultz's eBIAB Build, Finally! pvtschultz Electric Brewing 25 11-12-2013 05:50 PM
brekhokie's eBIAB build brewhokie Electric Brewing 12 03-28-2012 02:07 PM
Help me plan an eBIAB build Namocsid Electric Brewing 3 09-23-2011 07:17 PM
Advice Please - eBIAB Build BeerMe21 Electric Brewing 6 07-16-2011 04:15 PM


Forum Jump